2022 Sony Open Field: By the Numbers

Hideki Matsuyama Sony Open 2019
Hideki Matsuyama hits out of the bunker on the 16th hole during the first round of the Sony Open In Hawaii at Waialae CC on Jan 10, 2019 in Honolulu, Hawaii. (Photo by Masterpress via Getty Images)

A field of 144 players will tee it up this week at Waialae Country Club for the 2022 edition of the Sony Open.

It’s the second of the two-stop Aloha Swing, and the first of the year with a full 144 player field. (Last week’s Sentry featured only tournament winners from 2021.)

The field features defending champion Kevin Na, and last week’s winner Cameron Smith, who won here in 2020. Headliners include Bryson DeChambeau and Hideki Matsuyama.

As we do each week, here’s a look at the field in Honolulu, by the numbers.

Former Sony Open Winners

Ten (10) past winners of the Sony Open are in the field this week, including 1996 winner Jim Furyk:

  • Kevin Na (2021)
  • Cameron Smith (2020)
  • Matt Kuchar (2019)
  • Patton Kizzire (2018)
  • Jimmy Walker (2015, 2014)
  • Russell Henley (2013)
  • Ryan Palmer (2010)
  • Zach Johnson (2009)
  • Jerry Kelly (2002)
  • Jim Furyk (1996)

World Top 25

Bryson DeChambeau stands behind his ball along the 8th hole during the third round of the BMW Championship at Caves Valley GC on Aug 28, 2021 in Owings Mills, MD. (Photo by Ben Jared / PGA TOUR via Getty Images)

Eight (8) of the top 25 in the world rankings will be teeing it up this week:

  • Bryson DeChambeau (5)
  • Cameron Smith (10)
  • Harris English (14)
  • Hideki Matsuyama (19)
  • Abraham Ancer (20)
  • Jason Kokrak (21)
  • Billy Horschel (22)
  • Sungjae Im (24)

2021-22 Season Winners

Six of the 10 players who’ve won on the current season are in the field this week:

  • Sungjae Im (Shriners)
  • Hideki Matsuyama (ZOZO)
  • Lucas Herbert (Bermuda)
  • Jason Kokrak (Houston)
  • Talor Gooch (RSM)
  • Cameron Smith (Sentry)

Major Winners

Jimmy Walker
Jimmy Walker talks to his caddie during the Sony Open at Waialae CC on Jan 12, 2018 in Honolulu, Hawaii. Photo by Chris Condon/Getty Images via PGA TOUR

There are eleven (11) major champions in the field this week:

  • Zach Johnson (2: Masters, British)
  • Bryson DeChambeau (1: US Open)
  • Hideki Matsuyama (1: Masters)
  • Webb Simpson (1: US Open)
  • Graeme McDowell (1: US Open)
  • Jimmy Walker (1: PGA)
  • Stewart Cink (1: British)
  • Keegan Bradley (1: PGA)
  • Jim Furyk (1: US Open)
  • Stewart Cink (1: British)
  • Lucas Glover (1: US Open)

2022 Sony Open: Field & Odds

Waialae CC | Honolulu, Hawaii | Jan 13-16, 2022

Credit: PGA Tour Media, Getty Images


Please enter your name here