2024 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am Primer: History, TV, Field, Odds

Rory McIlroy Pebble Beach Pro Am
Rory McIlroy plays a shot from the 18th tee during the second round of the 2019 U.S. Open at Pebble Beach Golf Links on June 14, 2019 in Pebble Beach, Calif. (Photo by Ezra Shaw via Getty Images)

After a week in San Diego, the PGA Tour travels north up the California coast for this week’s AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am at the picture-perfect Pebble Beach Golf Links.

The long-running tournament, the third of the five-event “West Coast Swing,” provides yet another opportunity for the players to rack up some early-season money and FedEx Cup points.

Unlike in year’s past, the field in Pebble Beach, California is stacked due to its elevated status as part of the tour’s Signature Series. The field is headlined by the likes of Rory McIlroy, Scottie Scheffler, Viktor Hovland, Xander Schauffele and Jordan Spieth, who won here in 2017.

The Skinny

2022 Pebble Beach Preview
A general view of the Pebble Beach Golf Course on Feb 13, 2021 in Pebble Beach, Calif. (Photo by Joe Scarnici via Getty Images)

Tournament: AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am
Dates: Feb. 1-4, 2024
PGA Tour Debut: 1937
PGA TOUR Week: 5th (of 34)
TV Network: GOLF/CBS
Course: Pebble Beach (Host)
Where: Pebble Beach, Calif.
Distance: 6972 yards, Par 72
Architect: Jack Neville, Douglas Grant
Field 156 players
Format: 54-hole cut, 72-hole stroke
Purse: $20,000,000
Win Share: $3,600,000
FedEx/OWGR Pts: 700/73
2023 Champion: Justin Rose

How to Follow the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am

2022 Pebble Beach Preview Jordan Spieth
Jordan Spieth checks his yardage book during the final round of the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am at Pebble Beach Golf Links on Feb 14, 2021 in Pebble Beach, Calif. (Photo by Ezra Shaw via Getty Images)

TELEVISION: Thu-Fri: 3-6 p.m. (GOLF); Sat: 1-3 p.m. (GOLF); 3-7 p.m. (CBS); Sun: 1-3 (GOLF), 3-6:30 p.m. (CBS)

PGA TOUR LIVE (ESPN+): Thu-Fri: 11 a.m.-6 p.m. ET (Main Feed, Marquee, Groups, Holes); Sat: 11 a.m.-7 p.m. (Main Feed, Marquee, Groups, Holes); Sun: 11 a.m.-6:30 p.m. (Main Feed, Marquee, Groups, Holes)

RADIO: Thu-Fri: 12-6 p.m.; Sat: 2-7 p.m.; Sun: 1-6:30 p.m. (PGA TOUR Radio on SiriusXM)

LINKS: Website | Instagram | Facebook


Bing Crosby and Chris Schenkel during the 1968 Bing Crosby Pro-Am at Pebble Beach Golf Links. Photo by ABC Photo Archives/ABC via Getty Images

Like next week’s PGA Tour stop – the Waste Management Phoenix Open, the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am began in the 1930s.

Hosted by Bing Crosby, which led to the tournament nickname “The Crosby Clambake,” the inaugural 1937 tournament was just an 18-hole event. But as the years progressed, and its popularity increased, more rounds were added, and within 20 years it was a full 72-hole tournament.

Sam Snead won the inaugural tournament (1937), and over the years it’s boasted such champions as Ben Hogan, Jack Nicklaus (3 times), Tom Watson (twice), Tiger Woods, and Phil Mickelson (five times).

Phil Mickelson Wins 2019 Pebble Beach Pro-Am
Phil Mickelson celebrates after a three-shot win at the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am on Feb 11, 2019 in Pebble Beach, CA. Photo by Harry How/Getty Images

Mickelson and two-time major champion Mark O’Meara each own five titles.

The course is also famous for being the site of Woods’ 15-stroke obliteration of the field at the 2000 U.S. Open, one of the six times a major championship was hosted by Pebble Beach.

Since 1947, the Pebble Beach Pro-Am has been played among three courses. Those courses have changed a few times over the years, but currently the other two courses, along with Pebble Beach Golf Links, are Spyglass Hill Golf Course and Monterey Peninsula Country Club.

History: Tournament Titles

2016-24 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am
1986-15 AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am
1953-85 Bing Crosby National Pro-Am
1937-52 Bing Crosby Pro-Am

History: Recent Winners

2023: Justin Rose (-18)
2022: Tom Hoge (-19)
2021: Daniel Berger (-18)
2020: Nick Taylor (-19)
2019: Phil Mickelson (-19)
2018: Ted Potter Jr. (-17)
2017: Jordan Spieth (-19)
2016: Vaughn Taylor (-17)

History: Records

5 – Mark O’Meara (1985, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1997)
5 – Phil Mickelson (1998, 2005, 2007, 2012, 2019)

Back-to-Back Wins:
2009-10 Dustin Johnson
1989-90 Mark O’Meara
1977-78 Tom Watson
1972-73 Jack Nicklaus
1955-56 Cary Middlecoff

Low Score:
265 (−22) – Brandt Snedeker (2015)

Low Round
Pebble Beach: 62 (Tom Kite, David Duval)
Spyglass Hill: 62 (Phil Mickelson, Luke Donald)
Monterey Peninsula: 60 (Sung Kang)

The Field: Pebble Beach Pro-Am

Jordan Spieth
Jordan Spieth tees off on the 14th hole during the final round of the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am at Pebble Beach Golf Links on February 12, 2017 in Pebble Beach, CA. Photo by Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

While LIV Golf in Mexico will have the likes of Jon Rahm, Brooks Koepka, Bryson DeChambeau, Phil Mickelson, Dustin Johnson, Tyrrell Hatton, and Cam Smith, among others, the field this week in Pebble Beach, California will have its own set of stars including Rory McIlroy, Scottie Scheffler, and Jordan Spieth, who won here in 2017 and nearly won again in 2022.

Additional marquee names include reigning U.S. Open and British Open champions Wyndham Clark and Brian Harman, respectively, alongside Max Homa, Viktor Hovland, Patrick Cantlay, Xander Schauffele, Collin Morikawa, Justin Thomas, and defending champion Justin Rose, among others.

In addition to Spieth and Rose, former tournament winners in the field also include Tom Hoge (2022) and Nick Taylor (2020).

Other familiar names include Tony Finau, Jason Day, Tommy Fleetwood, Sam Burns, Webb Simpson, Adam Scott and Matt Fitzpatrick.

Top-5 Betting Favorites

Book Rank-Player (Odds)
1. Rory McIlroy (8-1)
1. Scottie Scheffler (8-1)
3. Viktor Hovland (12-1)
4. Xander Schauffele (14-1)
5. Jordan Spieth (16-1)
5. Max Homa (16-1)

Full Field & Odds

AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am | Pebble Beach GL | Pebble Beach, CA | Feb. 1-4, 2024

Joel Cook contributed to this report.

Credits: PGA Tour Media, Getty Images



Please enter your name here