Baltusrol To Host PGA of America’s Major Championships

Adam Scott plays a shot at Baltusrol Golf Club during the 2016 PGA Championship. Credit: Getty Images/Kevin C. Cox

The PGA of America announced today that Baltusrol Golf Club in Springfield, New Jersey will host two of its pillar championships: the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship in 2023 and the PGA Championship in 2029.

Adam Scott plays a shot at Baltusrol Golf Club during the 2016 PGA Championship. Credit: Getty Images/Kevin C. Cox

Founded in 1895, Baltusrol has played a prominent role on the national golf stage for nearly 125 years. Both Championships will be staged on Baltusrol’s famed Lower Course, which is an A.W. Tillinghast design. Since opening in 1922, the Lower Course has hosted 10 major golf events, including seven professional major championships.

The 2023 KPMG Women’s PGA Championship will be the second women’s major championship played on the Lower Course. In a duel of World Golf Hall-of-Famers, Mickey Wright topped Betsy Rawls by six shots to win the 1961 U.S. Women’s Open.

This will be Baltusrol’s third PGA Championship: Phil Mickelson and Jimmy Walker notched memorable one-shot victories on the Lower Course in 2005 and 2016, respectively.

“The PGA of America is delighted to continue our wonderful relationship with Baltusrol well into the future,” said PGA of America CEO Pete Bevacqua. “We’re excited to watch the best men and women in the game measure themselves against one of the most historic and challenging golf courses in the world, Baltusrol’s Lower Course.”

The KPMG Women’s Championship is a collaboration of the PGA of America, LPGA and KPMG, and focuses on the development, advancement and empowerment of women.

“KPMG’s commitment to elevating women on and off the golf course is exemplified by the selection of Baltusrol Golf Club as the host of the 2023 KPMG Women’s PGA Championship,” said Lynne Doughtie, KPMG U.S. Chairman and CEO. “To help more women in business advance to the C-suite, the KPMG Women’s Leadership Summit will be held at Baltusrol and bring together top leaders across multiple industries with women nominated by their CEOs to attend.”

“The KPMG Women’s PGA Championship has quickly become synonymous with greatness, and what better venue to solidify that than Baltusrol,” said LPGA Commissioner Mike Whan. “Even casual fans equate Baltusrol with ‘major’ moments in golf, and we’re thrilled that the best female golfers in the world will get to test their games at such an iconic venue in 2023.”

In 2014, Baltusrol Golf Club was designated a National Historic Landmark by the National Park Service, one of only four golf properties to earn this distinction.

“Since 1901 the best players in the world have competed against each other on our golf courses,” said Rick Shea, Baltusrol President. “We look forward to working with the PGA of America to showcase the best women and men in these two Major Championships.”


(as of June 2018)


2018 – Kemper Lakes Golf Club, Chicago, Illinois
2019 – Hazeltine National Golf Club, Chaska, Minnesota
2020 – Aronimink Golf Club, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2023 – Baltusrol Golf Club, Springfield, New Jersey


2018 – Bellerive Country Club, St. Louis, Missouri
2019 – Bethpage Black, Farmingdale, New York
2020 – Harding Park, San Francisco, California
2021 – The Ocean Course, Kiawah Island, South Carolina
2022 – Trump National Golf Club, Bedminster, New Jersey
2023 – Oak Hill Country Club, Rochester, New York
2024 – Valhalla Golf Club, Louisville, Kentucky
2027 – Aronimink Golf Club, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2028 – The Olympic Club, San Francisco, California
2029 – Baltusrol Golf Club, Springfield, New Jersey
2025-30* – Southern Hills Country Club, Tulsa, Oklahoma
* Date to be announced

SOURCE: Press Release PGA of America


Please enter your name here