Collin Morikawa Honored With European Tour Lifetime Membership

Collin Morikawa European Tour membership card
Collin Morikawa poses with his European Tour membership card ahead of the DP World Tour Championship at Jumeirah Golf Estates on November 17, 2021 in Dubai, UAE. (Photo by Andrew Redington via Getty Images).

Citing his debut Open Championship victory at Royal St Georges in July, the European Tour granted Collin Morikawa with an honorary lifetime membership.

The California native, who also won the 2020 PGA Championship in his debut, enters the week at the season-ending DP World Tour Championship in Dubai as the leader of the Tour’s Race to Dubai.

Morikawa, who also won the 2021 WGC-Workday Championship at The Concession in February, is seeking to become the first American winner of the European Tour’s points title.

Keith Pelley, the European Tour’s Chief Executive, presented the 24 year old superstar with the honorary card on the eve of the season’s finale.

“On behalf of everyone on the Tour,” said Pelley. “I would like to officially welcome Collin into an illustrious group of players to receive Honorary Life Membership of the European Tour.

“Collin is an incredible talent and he has already accomplished so much in the game at such a young age.

“To win the Open Championship at the first attempt is a special achievement and he now has the opportunity to secure another piece of history this week by becoming the first American winner of the Race to Dubai.

“I know how much Collin enjoys competing on the European Tour and we were all very proud to see one of our members lift the Claret Jug in front of so many fans at Sandwich this summer.”

Morikawa is just the 57th player in the tour’s 49-year history to receive the accolade which was first given to the tour’s “Founding Father” John Jacobs in 1978.

He is the fifth American to be so honored, joining Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Tom Watson, and Patrick Reed.

“Two and a half years ago when I turned pro, I had no clue what life was going to put in front of me,” said Morikawa, who is ranked No. 2 in the world. “But I’m very thankful for what I’ve been able to accomplish.

“Obviously the world has gone through many changes, but this means a lot and I have to say thanks to the European Tour.

“We want to grow the game as much as we can, and this is an important piece of that. So I’m going to honor this and this is going to be very special and it is definitely a top highlight so far since turning pro, so thank you.”

European Tour Honorary Life Members

1978 John Jacobs

1978 Bernard Hunt

1978 Dai Rees

1982 Peter Butler

1983 Seve Ballesteros

1983 Tony Jacklin

1985 Sir Henry Cotton

1985 Fred Daly

1985 Max Faulkner

1985 Bernhard Langer

1985 Sandy Lyle

1987 Sir Nick Faldo

1992 Ian Woosnam

1994 José María Olazábal

1995 Bob Charles

1995 Arnold Palmer

1995 Gary Player

1997 Colin Montgomerie

1998 Ernie Els

1999 Paul Lawrie

1999 Greg Norman

2001 Vijay Singh

2002 Retief Goosen

2003 Peter Alliss

2003 Bernard Gallacher

2004 Neil Coles

2004 Christy O’Connor

2004 John Panton

2005 Michael Campbell

2007 Angel Cabrera

2007 Padraig Harrington

2008 Trevor Immelman

2010 Martin Kaymer

2010 Graeme McDowell

2010 Louis Oosthuizen

2010 Tom Watson

2011 Darren Clarke

2011 Rory McIlroy

2011 Charl Schwartzel

2011 Lee Westwood

2012 Luke Donald

2012 Brian Huggett

2012 Tommy Horton

2012 Mark James

2012 Roger Chapman

2013 Dave Thomas

2013 Justin Rose

2014 Jack Nicklaus

2016 Peter Oosterhuis

2016 Danny Willett

2016 Henrik Stenson

2017 Sam Torrance

2017 Sergio Garcia

2018 Francesco Molinari

2019 Patrick Reed

2019 Shane Lowry

2021 Collin Morikawa


Please enter your name here