How the Field Qualified: 2021 RBC Heritage

Collin Morikawa Wins 2020 PGA Championship
Collin Morikawa celebrates making his final putt on the 18th green with caddie Jonathan Jakovac during the final round of the 2020 PGA Championship at TPC Harding Park on Aug 9, 2020 in San Francisco, CA. Photo by Harry How/Getty Images

The field at the 53rd edition of the RBC Heritage will be headlined by home hero and world No. 1 Dustin Johnson, who’ll look to break out of a mini slump in his home state.

The two-time major winner will be joined by Webb Simpson, the Heritage defending champion, and reigning PGA Champion Collin Morikawa, who’ll be returning to the Palmetto State (Kiawah Island) next month to defend his maiden major.

Other marquee names include reigning British Open champion Shane Lowry, who enters off strong showing in the two early big events: T21 at the Masters and solo 8th at the PLAYERS; world No. 10 Patrick Cantlay, who looked horrible at the Masters, but has otherwise enjoyed a strong season; 2017 Masters winner Sergio Garcia; Englishman Tyrrell Hatton, who enters off a T8 at the Masters; and the two recent winners of the WGC-Match Play: Billy Horschel, and Kevin Kisner, among others.

Here’s how each of the 136 players in field qualified for the 2021 RBC Heritage:

Former RBC Heritage Winners
Webb Simpson (2020)
Cheng Tsung “CT” Pan (2019)
Satoshi Kodaira (2018)
Wesley Bryan (2017)
Branden Grace (2016)
Davis Love III (2003)

Winner U.S. Open
Dustin Johnson (2016)
Five (5) Most Recent Winners Qualify

Winner PGA Championship
Collin Morikawa (2020)
Five (5) Most Recent Winners Qualify

Si Woo Kim (2017)
Five (5) Most Recent Winners Qualify

Winner The Masters
Sergio Garcia (2017)
Five (5) Most Recent Winners Qualify

Winner The Open
Shane Lowry (2019)
Five (5) Most Recent Winners Qualify

Winner – WGC Match Play
Billy Horschel (2019)
Kevin Kisner (2021)
Three (3) Most Recent Winners Qualify

Winners – Invitational (3 years)
Tyrrell Hatton (2019 Arnold Palmer)
Patrick Cantlay (2019 Memorial)
Three (3) Most Recent Winners Qualify
Invitationals: Genesis Arnold Palmer, Memorial

U.S. Presidents Cup
Matt Kuchar (2019)
Most Recent Team Members Qualify

Intl Presidents Cup
Byeong Hun An (2019)
Abraham Ancer (2019)
Adam Hadwin (2019)
Sungjae Im (2019)
Cameron Smith (2019)
Most Recent Team Members Qualify

Top 50 OWGR
Daniel Berger
Matt Fitzpatrick
Paul Casey
Lee Westwood
Harris English
Tommy Fleetwood
Kevin Na
Christiaan Bezuidenhout
Corey Conners
Robert MacIntyre
Will Zalatoris
Carlos Ortiz
Brian Harman
Mackenzie Hughes
Qualify Thru WGC-Match Play

Sponsors Exemptions (A)
Michael Gligic (1)
Nick Watney (1)
Bill Haas (2)
Ben Martin (2)
John Augenstein (3)
Chesson Hadley (3)
William McGirt (3)
Bryson Nimmer (3)
1. 2018-19 FEC / Korn Ferry Category
2. Not Otherwise Exempt Category
3. Unrestricted Category

PGA Section Champion
Thomas Gibson

Career Money Exemption
K.J. Choi
Luke Donald
Jim Furyk
Hunter Mahan
Steve Stricker
Bo Van Pelt

Top 125 Points
Brendon Todd
Sebastián Muñoz
Adam Long
Kevin Streelman
Joel Dahmen
Tom Hoge
Charley Hoffman
Russell Henley
Maverick McNealy
Richy Werenski
Stewart Cink
J.T. Poston
Harry Higgs
Michael Thompson
Dylan Frittelli
Nick Taylor
Tyler Duncan
Denny McCarthy
Henrik Norlander
Brian Gay
Mark Hubbard
Andrew Landry
Sam Burns
Cameron Davis
Sepp Straka
Emiliano Grillo
Robert Streb
Wyndham Clark
Peter Malnati
Doc Redman
Alex Noren
Charles Howell III
Matthew NeSmith
Hudson Swafford
Harold Varner III
Zach Johnson
Kyoung-Hoon Lee
Danny Lee
Chris Kirk
Lucas Glover
Aaron Wise
Brian Stuard
Patrick Rodgers
Jim Herman
Chez Reavie
Tyler McCumber
Robby Shelton
Ian Poulter
Pat Perez
Xinjun Zhang
Russell Knox
Andrew Putnam
Troy Merritt
Rory Sabbatini
Sung Kang
Brandon Hagy
Vaughn Taylor
Chase Seiffert
Luke List
Kyle Stanley
William Gordon*
Most FedExCup Pts: 2019 Greenbrier-2021 Valero
* Top 125 (Nonmember)

Current Tournament Winners
Ryan Armour (2017 Sanderson)
Austin Cook (2017 RSM)
Jason Dufner (2017 Memorial)
Brice Garnett (2018 Corales)
Michael Kim (2018 John Deere)
Patton Kizzire (2018 Sony)
Graeme McDowell (2019 Corales)
Scott Piercy (2018 Zurich)
Ted Potter, Jr. (2018 Pebble)
Brandt Snedeker (2019 Wyndham)
Martin Trainer (2019 Puerto Rico)
Kevin Tway (2018 Safeway)
Danny Willett (2019 BMW PGA)

FedExCup Points
Doug Ghim
Anirban Lahiri
Matt Wallace
Camilo Villegas
Rafael Campos
5 Players Not Otherwise Eligible

Top 125 Prior Year
Scott Harrington
Ryan Moore
Adam Schenk
Scott Brown
Beau Hossler
Scott Stallings
Tom Lewis
Bo Hoag
Top 125 Players Prior Year FedExCup Points List



Please enter your name here