LIV Golf Effect: Davis Love III, Trevor Immelman Round Out Presidents Cup With First-Timers

Louis Oosthuizen and Abraham Ancer 2019 Presidents Cup
Louis Oosthuizen and Abraham Ancer of the International Team on the 6th green during day one of the 2019 Presidents Cup at Royal Melbourne GC on Dec 12, 2019 in Melbourne, Aus. (Photo by David Cannon via Getty Images)

Presidents Cup Captains Davis Love III (U.S.) and Trevor Immelman (The Internationals) rounded out their 12-player teams with six wild-card picks and the LIV Golf effect was pretty clear, particularly for the Black and Gold team.

Love added Max Homa, Billy Horschel, Kevin Kisner, Collin Morikawa, Jordan Spieth and Cameron Young.

Because LIV Golf signed U.S. team (Presidents/Ryder Cup/Olympic) regulars such as Dustin Johnson, Brooks Koepka, Bryson DeChambeau and Patrick Reed, three of Love’s six picks will be making their debut in team play (Homa, Horschel and Young), while 38-year-old Kisner makes just his second team appearance.

Louis Oosthuizen and Dustin Johnson 2019 Presidents Cup
Dustin Johnson and Louis Oosthuizen shake hands after Saturday afternoon foursomes matches on day three of the 2019 Presidents Cup at Royal Melbourne GC on Dec 14, 2019 in Melbourne, Aus. (Photo by Rob Carr via Getty Images)

Those six join the six who’d qualified by points: Scottie Scheffler, Justin Thomas, Sam Burns, Patrick Cantlay, Xander Schauffele and Tony Finau.

Immelman, meanwhile, lost locks such as Cameron Smith, Marc Leishman, Abraham Ancer, Joaquin Niemann and Louis Oosthuizen, along with potential captain’s picks Carlos Ortiz, Branden Grace, and Anirban Lahiri. All currently compete in the LIV Golf Series.

The six qualifiers for Immelman’s team included three newcomers: Corey Conners, Mito Pereira, and Tom Kim. They will join International team alums Hideki Matsuyama, Adam Scott and Sungjae Im.

Of Immelman’s captain’s picks, only Si Woo Kim has Cup experience. The other five are first timers: K.H. Lee, Christian Bezuidenhout, Cameron Davis, Taylor Pendrith and Sebastian Munoz.

The Presidents Cup will be contested at Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, North Carolina, September 20-25.


Please enter your name here