Seamus Power Edges J.T. Poston in Playoff To Win Barbasol Championship

Seamus Power Wins Barbasol Championship
Seamus Power poses with the trophy after winning the Barbasol Championship at Keene Trace GC on July 18, 2021 in Nicholasville, KY. (Photo by Andy Lyons via Getty Images)

Seamus Power fired a final-round 67 and then edged J.T. Poston in a sudden-death playoff to claim his first PGA Tour victory at the 2021 Barbasol Championship.

The 34-year old Irishman, who began the day at Keene Trace Golf Club three shots back of Poston, found himself six back through 14 holes. But after birdies on 16 and 18, coupled with a Poston double bogey-bogey stretch on 15 and 16, Power was suddenly tied for the lead at 21 under, and headed for a playoff.

Both players had opportunities to end it early in overtime, but Power finally clinched it with a par 4 on the sixth extra hole after Poston made bogey.

“Yeah, it’s an incredible day,” said Power, who moved to 113th in the Official World Golf Rankings. “Yeah, I mean, I started out knowing I was going to need a low one.

“To be honest, I didn’t think 5 under would be low enough, but yeah, I was able to pick one up on the last, squeeze into a playoff and eventually kind of pulled through there after — the first hole there was very exciting to get the chip-in. Obviously, JT to follow.

“You’re trying to tell yourself he’s going to make it, but deep down it’s a little bit already thinking ahead. I was able to just kind of stay patient enough there and JT made just one mistake and yeah, I was able to take advantage. But yeah, I mean, unbelievable day, career changing, life changing, all that kind of good stuff.

“It’s not going to sink in for a while.”

With the maiden victory, Power earned $630,000 and 300 FedExCup points to move 69th in the playoff race. He also secured a two-year tour exemption through the 2023 season.

Anirban Lahiri (65) and Sam Ryder (65) finished one stroke back, in a tie for third-place, one clear of a six player logjam, which included Patrick Rodgers (67), Henrik Norlander (67), Mito Pereira (67), Ryan Armour (68), James Hahn (70) and Luke List (71).

2021 Barbasol Championship

Final Round Leaderboard: Top-10

Pos-Player-To Par (Rd 4)
1. Seamus Power -21 (-5)
2. J.T. Poston -21 (-2)
3. Anirban Lahiri -20 (-7)
3. Sam Ryder -20 (-7)
5. Patrick Rodgers -19 (-5)
5. Henrik Norlander -19 (-5)
5. Mito Pereira -19 (-5)
5. Ryan Armour -19 (-4)
5. James Hahn -19 (-2)
5. Luke List -19 (-1)

Material from the PGA Tour Media was used to compile this report.


Please enter your name here