The 2022 PLAYERS Championship Field: By the Numbers (Plus Odds)


A field of 144 players will tee it up this week at the famed Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass for the 48th edition of The PLAYERS Championship.

The third of the four-stop Florida swing, The PLAYERS unofficially kicks off golf’s championship season, with the tour’s flagship events (PLAYERS and FEDEX CUP) bookending the four majors over amid a thrilling six-month span.

Offering golf’s richest purse, including majors, the Sawgrass field is super stacked, and features all of the world’s top-ranked superstars.

As we do each week, here’s a look at the field in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida… by the numbers.

World Top 10

Scottie Scheffler Wins 2022 Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill GC
Scottie Scheffler poses with the trophy after winning the Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill GC on Mar 6, 2022 in Orlando, Fla. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox via Getty Images)

Ten (10) of the top 10 in the world rankings will be teeing it up this week:

  • Jon Rahm (1)
  • Collin Morikawa (2)
  • Viktor Hovland (3)
  • Patrick Cantlay (4)
  • Scottie Scheffler (5)
  • Rory McIlroy (6)
  • Xander Schauffele (7)
  • Justin Thomas (8)
  • Dustin Johnson (9)
  • Cameron Smith (10)

Masters Champions

Dustin Johnson Wins 2020 Masters Augusta National
Dustin Johnson is awarded the Green Jacket by Masters champion Tiger Woods during the Green Jacket Ceremony after winning the Masters at Augusta National Golf Club on November 15, 2020 in Augusta, Georgia. (Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images)

In the field this week, there are nine (9) Masters champions, holding 10 titles:

  • Hideki Matsuyama (2021)
  • Dustin Johnson (2020)
  • Patrick Reed (2018)
  • Sergio Garcia (2017)
  • Jordan Spieth (2016)
  • Adam Scott (2013)
  • Bubba Watson (2012, 2010)
  • Charl Schwartzel (2011)
  • Zach Johnson (2007)

PGA Champions

Brooks Koepka Wins 2019 PGA Championship
Brooks Koepka poses with girlfriend Jena Sims and the Wanamaker Trophy after winning the PGA Championship at the Bethpage Black course on May 19, 2019 in Farmingdale, New York. Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

In the field this week, there are seven (7) PGA champions, headlined by two-time winners Brooks Koepka and Rory McIlroy:

  • Collin Morikawa (2020)
  • Brooks Koepka (2019, 2018)
  • Justin Thomas (2017)
  • Jimmy Walker (2016)
  • Jason Day (2015)
  • Rory McIlroy (2014, 2012)
  • Keegan Bradley (2011)

British Open Champions

Shane Lowry Wins 148th Open Championship
Shane Lowry celebrates with the Claret Jug trophy after winning the 148th Open Championship on July 21, 2019 at Royal Portrush Golf Club in Northern Ireland. Photo by David Blunsden/Action Plus via Getty Images

In the field this week, there are eight (8) British Open champions:

  • Collin Morikawa (2021)
  • Shane Lowry (2019)
  • Francesco Molinari (2018)
  • Jordan Spieth (2017)
  • Zach Johnson (2015)
  • Rory McIlroy (2014)
  • Louis Oosthuizen (2010)
  • Stewart Cink (2009)

U.S. Open Champions

Jon Rahm Wins 2021 U.S. Open
Jon Rahm celebrates with the trophy after winning as the media takes photographs during the trophy presentation ceremony after the final round of the 2021 U.S. Open at Torrey Pines Golf Course (South Course) on June 20, 2021 in San Diego, CA. (Photo by Harry How via Getty Images)

In the field this week, there are nine (9) U.S. Open champions, including two-time winner Brooks Koepka:

  • Jon Rahm (2021)
  • Bryson DeChambeau (2020)
  • Gary Woodland (2019)
  • Brooks Koepka (2018, 2017)
  • Dustin Johnson (2016)
  • Jordan Spieth (2015)
  • Justin Rose (2013)
  • Webb Simpson (2012)
  • Rory McIlroy (2011)

PLAYERS Champions

Justin Thomas Wins The PLAYERS Championship
Justin Thomas poses with the trophy after winning THE PLAYERS Championship on The Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass on Mar 14, 2021 in Ponte Vedra Beach, FL. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

Eight (8) past winners of The PLAYERS Championship are in the field this week:

  • Justin Thomas (2021)
  • Rory McIlroy (2019)
  • Webb Simpson (2018)
  • Si Woo Kim (2017)
  • Jason Day (2016)
  • Matt Kuchar (2012)
  • Sergio Garcia (2008)
  • Adam Scott (2004)

FEDEX CUP Champions

Justin Rose Wins 2018 FedExCup
Justin Rose takes a selfie with the FedExCup trophy after the final round of the TOUR Championship at East Lake GC on Sep 23, 2018 in Atlanta, GA. Photo by Chris Condon/PGA TOUR via Getty Images

Eight (8) past winners of The FEDEX CUP are in the field this week:

  • Patrick Cantlay (2021)
  • Dustin Johnson (2020)
  • Rory McIlroy (2019, 2016)
  • Justin Rose (2018)
  • Justin Thomas (2017)
  • Jordan Spieth (2015)
  • Billy Horschel (2014)
  • Brandt Snedeker (2012)

The 2022 PLAYERS Championship: Field, Rank & Odds

Patrick Cantlay and Jon Rahm TOUR Championship Final Round
Jon Rahm and Patrick Cantlay on the 7th green during the final round of the TOUR Championship at East Lake GC on Sept 5, 2021 in Atlanta, GA. (Photo by Sam Greenwood via Getty Images)
Top-5 Betting Favorites

1. Jon Rahm (12-1)
2. Justin Thomas (14-1)
2. Collin Morikawa (14-1)
4. Patrick Cantlay (20-1)
4. Rory McIlroy (20-1)
4. Viktor Hovland (20-1)

TPC Sawgrass | Ponte Vedra Beach, FL | Mar 10-13, 2022

Credit: PGA Tour Media, Getty Images


Please enter your name here