The PGA Tour’s 10 Best Trophies

Jordan Spieth Wins 2017 Travelers Championship
Jordan Spieth holds the trophy after winning the Travelers Championship at TPC River Highlands on June 25, 2017 in Cromwell, CT. Photo by Tim Clayton/Getty Images

Last night I wrote up a post on the Rooster trophy awarded to the winner of the Sanderson Farms Championship. This got me wondering, what are the best and worst trophies on the PGA Tour?

First, here’s my list of the best:

1. PGA Championship

The Stanley Cup of golf trophies. Basically says, ‘I won b!tch.’

Brooks Koepka 2018 PGA Championship
Brooks Koepka poses with the Wanamaker trophy after winning the off on the 2018 PGA Championship at Bellerive CC in St Louis, MO. Credit: Richard Heathcote/Getty Images

2. The Open Championship

A timeless classic. Probably better than the Wannamker if you actually want to place it on the mantle.

Francesco Molinari 2018 British Open, Round 4
Francesco Molinari poses with the Claret Jug at Carnoustie Golf Club after winning the 2018 Open Championship in Carnoustie, Scotland. Credit:Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images
Jack Nicklaus Wins 1966 British Open at Muirfield
Jack Nicklaus poses with the Claret Jug after winning the British Open at Muirfield Golf Lnks in Gullane, Scotland on July 9, 1966. Photo by Bob Thomas/Getty Images

3. The U.S Open

Another sterling silver piece of hardware. Sort of the major’s mid-size edition – smaller than the Wannamaker but bigger than the Claret.

Brooks Koepka poses with the trophy after winning the U.S. Open at Erin Hills in Erin, WI on June 18, 2017. Credit: Getty Images/Richard Heathcote

4. The Travelers Championship

With its cleaner lines and perfect size, if this were a major trophy, it’d probably be a top two… Just a sweet piece of swag.

Jordan Spieth Wins 2017 Travelers Championship
Jordan Spieth holds the trophy after winning the Travelers Championship at TPC River Highlands on June 25, 2017 in Cromwell, CT. Photo by Tim Clayton/Getty Images

5. BMW Championship

The winner of the BMW Championship receives two trophies: the modern, sleek BMW trophy (which is not bad), but the J.D. Wadley trophy is the top dog here. It’s awarded by the Western Golf Association as part of an effort to continue the legacy of the old Western Open.

Marc Leishman poses with the J.K. Hadley trophy and the BMW trophy after winning the BMW Championship at Conway Farms GC on September 17, 2017 in Lake Forest, IL. Photo by Keyur Khamar/Getty Images

6. Wyndham Championship

Named after Slammin Sammy, the Wyndham’s Sam Snead Cup is just a first-rate piece of hardware. A total sizzler.

Brandt Snedeker Wins Wyndham Championship
Brandt Snedeker poses with the Sam Snead Cup after winning the Wyndham Championship at Sedgefield CC on August 19, 2018 in Greensboro, NC. Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

7-9. Three WGCs (HSBC, Bridgestone and Mexico)

Aside from the gold handles on Mexico’s trophy, these three stunners have near identical looks, each with a unique color paint job. They are called (top to bottom): the Old Tom Morris Cup (WGC-HSBC), the Gary Player Cup (WGC-Bridgestone), and the Gene Sarazen Cup (WGC-Mexico). Note: the Bridgestone event moves to Memphis, starting this season, so we’re not sure what’ll happen to that trophy, but it’s a great look and should be replicated for all the playoff events and/or WGC series.

Xander Schauffele Wins WGC-HSBC Champions in Shanghai
Xander Schauffele poses with the Old Tom Morris Cup after winning the WGC-HSBC Champions in Shanghai on October 28, 2018. Photo by JOHANNES EISELE/AFP via Getty Images
Justin Thomas Wins 2018 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational
Justin Thomas poses with the Gary Player Cup after winning the 2018 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational at Firestone CC in Akron, Ohio. Credit: Sam Greenwood/Getty Images
Dustin Johnson
Dustin Johnson poses with the Gene Sarazen Cup after winning the WGC-Mexico Championship at Club de Golf Chapultepec in Naucalpan, Mexico on March 5, 2017. Photo by Buda Mendes/Getty Images

10. Arnold Palmer Invitational

A sturdy-looking piece of shiny silver, topped with a model of the The King and his iconic swing.

Rory McIlroy Wins Arnold Palmer
Rory McIlroy poses with the trophy after winning the Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill Club in Orlando, FL on . Credit: Getty Images

Bonus. Barbasol Championship

We’re not sure here. The trophy itself is a clean-looking classic, worthy of a top-10 rank, but if the can of shaving cream is a permanent part of the trophy then it’s borderline stupid swag.

Troy Merritt Wins Barbasol Championship
Troy Merritt poses with the winner’s trophy after winning the Barbasol Championship at Keene Trace GC on July 23, 2018 in Lexington, KY. Photo by Stacy Revere/Getty Images


Please enter your name here