2017 OHL Classic Field: By The Numbers

Rickie Fowler Patrick Reed
Patrick Reed lines up a putt as Rickie Fowler looks on on the 17th green during round two of THE PLAYERS Championship at the TPC Sawgrass Stadium course on May 8, 2015 in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. (Photo by Richard Heathcote via Getty Images)

A field of 132 players will tee it up this week at Mayakoba Resort’s El Camaleon Golf Club in Playa del Carmen (Mexico) for the 2017 edition of the OHL Classic.

It’s one of two remaining tournaments in the wrap-around portion of the season, where a handful of stars headline a field of mainly struggling vets and young up and comers – who are all looking to score some early cash and FedExCup points before the big guns return in January.

As we do each week, here’s a look at the field in Mexico, by the numbers.


11 of the 14 players who finished in the final top 10 at last week’s Shriners event will be teeing it up this week.

  • P2 Alex Cejka (-9)
  • P2 Whee Kim (-9)
  • T4 Patton Kizzire (-8)
  • T4 J.T. Poston (-8)
  • T4 Chesson Hadley (-8)
  • T7 Bryson DeChambeau (-7)
  • T7 Tom Hoge (-7)
  • T7 Beau Hossler (-7)
  • T10 Alex Kang (-6)
  • T10 Aaron Baddeley (-6)
  • T10 J. J. Spaun (-6)


10 of the 12 players who finished among the final top 10 (and ties) at last year’s OHL Classic will be teeing it up this week.

  • 1 Pat Perez (-21)
  • 2 Gary Woodland (-19)
  • 3 Russell Knox (-18)
  • T4 Kevin Streelman (-17)
  • T4 Chez Reavie (-17)
  • T4 Scott Piercy (-17)
  • T7 Charles Howell III (-16)
  • T7 Chris Kirk (-16)
  • T7 Luke List (-16)
  • T10 Adam Hadwin (-14)
  • T10 Emiliano Grillo (-14)
  • T10 Jhonattan Vegas (-14)


Eight players in the top 50 of the Official World Rankings.

  • Rickie Fowler (10)
  • Pat Perez (18)
  • Patrick Reed (22)
  • Charley Hoffman (24)
  • Kevin Chappell (30)
  • Jhonattan Vegas (41)
  • Siwoo Kim (45)
  • Zach Johnson (48)


Eight participants of the recent Presidents Cup will be teeing it up this week – four from each team.

  • Rickie Fowler (USA)
  • Patrick Reed (USA)
  • Kevin Chappell (USA)
  • Charley Hoffman (USA)
  • Anirban Lahiri (INTL)
  • Emiliano Grillo (INTL)
  • Jhonattan Vegas (INTL)
  • Si Woo Kim (INTL)


Six players who advanced to the 2017 TOUR Championship are in this week’s field.

  • Rickie Fowler
  • Patrick Reed
  • Charley Hoffman
  • Kevin Chappell
  • Jhonattan Vegas
  • Gary Woodland


Eight past winners of the OHL Classic at Mayakoba are in the field this week.

  • Pat Perez (2016)
  • Graeme McDowell (2015)
  • Charley Hoffman (2014)
  • Harris English (2013)
  • John Huh (2012)
  • Johnson Wagner (2011)
  • Mark Wilson (2009)
  • Brian Gay (2008)


There are six major championship winners totaling 11 major wins.

  • Ernie Els (4)
  • Zach Johnson (2)
  • Retief Goosen (2)
  • Graeme McDowell (1)
  • Stewart Cink (1)
  • Geoff Ogilvy (1)


Sorted By World Rank

10Rickie Fowler
18Pat Perez
22Patrick Reed
24Charley Hoffman
30Kevin Chappell
41Jhonattan Vegas
45Siwoo Kim
48Zach Johnson
51Gary Woodland
52Ryan Moore
60Anirban Lahiri
61Charles Howell III
63Emiliano Grillo
66Russell Knox
78Sunghoon Kang
79Chesson Hadley
82Byeong Hun An
94Chez Reavie
96Bryson DeChambeau
104Danny Lee
110Ollie Schniederjans
113Jason Kokrak
114Meenwhee Kim
116Scott Brown
120David Lingmerth
122Luke List
123Mackenzie Hughes
134Stewart Cink
138Jim Herman
154Kevin Streelman
157Graeme McDowell
158Ryan Armour
161Patrick Rodgers
166C.T. Pan
168J.J Spaun
171Chris Stroud
175Nick Taylor
180Aaron Baddeley
187Talor Gooch
190Billy Hurley III
195Harris English
196Alex Cejka
198Andrew Landry
199Smylie Kaufman
210Ted Potter-jr
217Brice Garnett
219Brian Stuard
220Sam Ryder
222Richy Werenski
224Aaron Wise
228Rob Oppenheim
230Ben Martin
236Patton Kizzire
238Sam Saunders
240Stephan Jaeger
246Vaughn Taylor
247Nate Lashley
251Benjamin Silverman
255Martin Flores
263D.A. Points
264Brian Gay
265Jonathan Byrd
278JT Poston
281Brandon Hagy
284Geoff Ogilvy
286Ricky Barnes
287Abraham Ancer
289Adam Schenk
299Austin Cook
300Kyle Thompson
304Zhang Xin-jun
307Derek Fathauer
309Seamus Power
310Beau Hossler
311Marty Dou Zecheng
314Nicholas Lindheim
315Cameron Tringale
318Andrew Putnam
321Blayne Barber
323Tyrone van Aswegen
329Johnson Wagner
333Keith Mitchell
337Fabian Gomez
341Camilo Villegas
346Brandon Harkins
348Ryan Blaum
349Shawn Stefani
355Rory Sabbatini
361Conrad Shindler
366Lanto Griffin
368Jon Curran
369Jose de Jesus Rodriguez
375Andrew Yun
379Retief Goosen
381John Huh
382Martin Piller
383Nick Watney
391Tom Lovelady
395Matt Atkins
401Tyler Duncan
402Tom Hoge
403Troy Merritt
412Matt Jones
424Bronson Burgoon
441Greg Chalmers
460Tim Wilkinson
470Ethan Tracy
474J.J. Henry
495Joel Dahmen
513Steve Wheatcroft
524Alex Kang
528Ernie Els
545Denny McCarthy
549Jordan Niebrugge
555Roberto Diaz
574Oscar Fraustro
584Brett Stegmaier
616Hunter Mahan
619Corey Conners
651Peter Malnati
667Matt Every
673Carlos Ortiz
678Ken Duke
847Javier Colomo
960Mark Wilson
966Jason Bohn
1052Cameron Champ
1318Wyndham Clark
1665Sean Jacklin
1939Brian Davis
1939Sangmoon Bae
1939John Oda

Credit: PGA Tour Media, Getty Images


Please enter your name here