2019 Sanderson Farms Championship Primer: History, TV, Field, Odds

Jonathan Byrd-sanderson-farms
Jonathan Byrd during day one of the Sanderson Farms Championship at The CC of Jackson on November 5, 2015 in Jackson, MS. Photo by Michael Cohen/Getty Images

The Sanderson Farms Championship, the long-running tournament contested at the Country Club of Jackson (MS), has been upgraded to a full-fledged PGA Tour event for the 2019-20 season.

No longer played opposite the WGC-HSBC Champions, the Sanderson Farms stop will now offer a full 500 FedExCup points along with an increased purse ($6.6 million from $4.4m).

Cameron Champ will return to Mississippi to defend his maiden Tour title, and will be joined by last week’s winner in West Virginia, Joaquin Niemann, along with familiar names such as Brandt Snedeker, Byeong Hun An, Sungjae Im, SiWoo Kim, Brian Harman, and Kyle Stanley.

Here’s a primer for the Tour’s only stop in the Magnolia State:

The Skinny

Tournament: Sanderson Farms Championship
Dates: Sep. 19-22, 2019
Where: Jackson, Mississippi
Course: Country Club of Jackson
Distance: Par 72, 7,421 yards
Architect: Ronald Fream & David Dale
Format: 156 players, 72 holes, 36-hole cut, stroke play
Purse: $6,600,000
Winning Share: $1,118,000
FedExCup/OWGR Points: 500/26
Defending Champion: Cameron Champ
Other Marquee Players: Brandt Snedeker, Cameron Smith, Byeong Hun An, Joaquin Niemann, Sungjae Im, Lucas Glover, Emiliano Grillo, Kyle Stanley, Siwoo Kim, Corey Conners, Aaron Wise, Brian Harman, Luke List, Dylan Frittelli, Kevin Streelman, Charley Hoffman, Chesson Hadley, Jimmy Walker, Zach Johnson

TV & Online

Rd1: Th 2:00 – 6:00 PM (GOLF)
Rd2: Fr 2:00 – 6:00 PM (GOLF)
Rd3: Sa 3:00 – 6:00 PM (GOLF)
Rd4: Su 3:00 – 6:00 PM (GOLF)

Online: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook


Players walk the 15th fairway during the Sanderson Farms Championship at the CC of Jackson on October 28, 2016 in Jackson, MS. Photo by Marianna Massey/Getty Images

The roots of the Sanderson Farms Championship were planted in 1968 when the event was established and called the Magnolia State Classic, playing off Mississippi’s nickname. The first winner was Mac McLendon, but other notable Magnolia Champions include Craig Stadler, Roger Maltbie, and Payne Stewart.

In 1986, Deposit Guaranty came on as the tournament’s title sponsor and remained its primary partner through 1998.

The annual event at the Country Club of Jackson changed its name three more times (Southern Farm Bureau, Viking Classic, True South Classic) until Sanderson Farms was announced as the title sponsor, starting in 2013.

As a long-time opposite event, it had been contested the same week as the HSBC Champions, as well as the Masters and Open Championship in the past.

Recent Winners

2018 – Cameron Champ
2017 – Ryan Armour
2016 – Cody Gribble
2015 – Peter Malnati
2014 – Nick Taylor
2013 – Woody Austin

Defending Champion

Cameron Champ Wins the Sanderson Farms Championship
Cameron Champ during the final round of the 2018 Sanderson Farm Championship at the CC of Jackson (MS) on October 27, 2018. Photo by Matt Sullivan/Getty Images.

Cameron Champ shot a 3-under par 69 to claim his first career PGA Tour victory at the Sanderson Farms Championship.

The 23-year old California native finished his fourth day at the Country Club of Jackson with two bogeys against six birdies, highlighted by five gains over his final six holes (Nos. 13, 14, 15, 16, and 18) to secure his first Tour trophy at 21-under par.

Corey Conners shot a 68 to reach 17 under, and end the day where he started – alone in second, four back of Champ. Carlos Ortiz signed for a low-round 64 to move into a tie for third-place alongside Sam Burns (68) at 15 under.

Full Field & Odds

The full field with world rankings, and odds.


1. Joaquin Niemann (14-1)
2. Sungjae Im (16-1)
3. Brandt Snedeker (18-1)
4. Scottie Scheffler (20-1)
5. Byeong Hun An (22-1)

Bet on the Sanderson Farms Championship at Bovada.


Please enter your name here