2024 Presidents Cup: Jim Furyk Named U.S. Captain for Montreal Matches

Jim Furyk named 2024 U.S. Presidents Cup Team Captain
Jim Furyk is announced as the 2024 U.S. Team Captain for the Presidents Cup in Montreal, Canada at PGA TOUR Headquarters on May 2, 2023 in Ponte Vedra Beach, FL. (Photo by Chris Condon for the PGA TOUR via Getty Images)

Jim Furyk, who failed badly as the captain of the 2018 U.S. Ryder Cup team, will get another shot at leading a U.S. squad. This time as the captain of the 2024 U.S. Presidents Cup team, according to a press release by the PGA Tour.

Furyk, who played on seven U.S. President Cup teams, and served as a captain’s assistant twice (2015 and 2017), will make his debut as a Presidents Cup captain at The Royal Montreal Golf Club in Canada, Sept. 24-29, 2024. Canadian Mike Weir was previously announced as captain of the International team.

“Being selected by my peers to take on the role as captain of the U.S. team for the 2024 Presidents Cup is truly an honor that I am humbled and excited to accept,” said Furyk in a statement.

“Over the span of several decades this event has evolved tremendously into the global showcase it is today, and I am thrilled to help continue that momentum. So many legendary captains have come before me, so now to be here as the 2024 U.S. team captain is quite remarkable.”

Furyk was the captain of the 2018 U.S. Ryder Cup team. Europe cruised to a 17½ to 10½ blowout victory in Paris.

“Jim has been a role model and a tremendous ambassador for the PGA Tour during his remarkable career,” PGA Tour commissioner Jay Monahan said in a statement.

“And given the role he has played in the growth and success of the Presidents Cup over the last 25 years as both a competitor and a captain’s assistant, it’s fitting he will bring his leadership skills to Montreal in 2024 where he takes on the role of U.S. team captain.”

The Presidents Cup has been accused of being a meaningless Ryder Cup copycat. The U.S. team has won nine straight times, including a 17½-12½ victory in 2022 at Quail Hollow in Charlotte. The International team, which consists of anyone not eligible for the Europe Ryder Cup team, last won 25 years ago at Royal Melbourne.



Please enter your name here