Pro Golf Weekly

Fact Sheet: 2018 CP Women’s Open

Defending champion, and new world No. 1, Sung Hyun Park will headline the field at Wascana Country Club for the 46th annual CP Women’s Open in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada.

The 24-year old Korean will enter off her third win of the season at last week’s Indy Women in Tech Championship. Park will be joined by world No. 2 Ariya Jutanugarn and Canadian star Brooke Henderson.

CP Women's Open
Brooke Henderson on the 18th green during the final round of the CP Women’s Open at the Ottawa Hunt & Golf Club on Aug. 27, 2017 in Ottawa, Canada. Photo by Vaughn Ridley/Getty Images

CP Women’s Open

Dates: Aug. 23-26, 2018
Edition: 46th (1973)
Title Sponsor: Canadian Pacific Railway
Where: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Course: Wascana Country Club
Distance: Par 35-37–72, 6,675 yards
Architect: Stanley Thompson (1911)
Format: 156 players, 72 holes, stroke play, 36-hole cut (top 70)
Purse: $2,250,000; $337,500 (Winner)
GOLF Channel: Thu-Fri 10:30 am-1:30 pm; Sat 3-6 pm; Sun 4-7 pm
Defending Champion: Sung Hyun Park 
Marquee Players: Park, Ariya Jutanugarn, Brooke Henderson, Brittany Lincicome, Lydia Ko, Pernilla Lindberg, Georgia Hall, Jessica Korda, Moriya Jutanugarn, Minjee Lee, Annie Park, Sei Young Kim

Sung Hyun Park Wins CP Women's Open
Sung Hyun Park poses with the trophy after winning the CP Women’s Open at the Ottawa Hunt & Golf Club on Aug. 27, 2017 in Ottawa, Canada. Photo by Vaughn Ridley/Getty Images

Notes: This is second of three North American events before the Tour heads overseas until , first to France for the season’s final major at The Evian Championship, then on to Korea to kickoff its six-stop fall swing through Asia… The six most recent champions (four in all) of the CP Women’s Open is essentially a who’s who of current LPGA superstars (2012-2013 Lydia Ko, 2014 So Yeon Ryu, 2015 Ko, 2016 Ariya Jutanugarn, 2017 Sung Hyun Park) with each holding the world No. 1 ranking at some point over the past two years… Speaking of Ko, the three-time winner captured her first two titles as an amateur. Her first, in 2012, set a record as the youngest-ever winner of an LPGA Tour event (15 years, 4 months). She successfully defended her title as an amateur again in 2013, and won for a third time in 2015 (as a pro)… The only other three-time winner is Pat Bradley, who won her titles in 1980, 1985, and 1986. Bradley’s wins, though, were all majors as the then du Maurier Classic was one of the big four on the LPGA from 1979-2000. It was replaced by the Women’s British Open in 2001, while the Evian Championship became the Tour’s fifth major in 2013…

Last Week: Park Wins Third Title of 2018 at Indy Women in Tech Championship.

Next Week: Cambia Portland Classic at Columbia Edgewater Country Club in in Portland, Oregon.


(Fact Sheet from PRO GOLF WEEKLY)

PGW Staff

This post was produced by a Pro Golf Weekly staff member.

Add comment

Up Next On Tour

DATES 11/29-12/2, 2018
EVENT Hero World Challenge
LOCALE New Providence, Bahamas
PURSE $3,500,00
WIN SHARE $1,000.000
DEFENDING Rickie Fowler
EVENT Australian PGA Championship
COURSE RACV Royal Pines Resort
LOCALE Gold Coast, Queensland, AUS
PURSE $2,000,000
WIN SHARE $191,660
DEFENDING Cameron Smith



Like Us On Facebook