Grant Thornton Invitational Primer: Format, TV, Teams

Grant Thornton Invitational Primer Charley Hull and Justin Rose
Charley Hull and Justin Rose will be one of the higher profile teams in the field. (Photo by Grant Thornton via LPGA)

The longtime team-based Franklin Templeton/QBE/Shark Shootout in Naples, Florida has gotten something of a makeover in 2023.

With Greg Norman considered persona non grata at the PGA Tour, the event has been “reimagined” including a new name (the Grant Thornton Invitational) and a somewhat new format: while the shootout included a team or two with an LPGA player, the new teams will be uniformly comprised of a PGA Tour player and an LPGA player.

The “inaugural” event (or 35th edition depending on how you see it) is set to tee off Dec. 8-10 (the same schedule slot as the Shootout) at the Tiburon Golf Club in Naples, Florida (the home of the Shootout since 2001).

Golf Channel will broadcast Friday’s first round while the weekend coverage will be split between Golf Channel and NBC.

Tournament Skinny

Grant Thornton Invitational
Title Sponsor: Grant Thornton
PGA Tour Debut: 1989
Dates: Dec. 8-10, 2023
Where: Naples, Fla.
CourseTiburón Golf Club (Gold)
Format: Scramble, Alt Shot, Four-ball
Purse: $4,000,000

Grant Thornton Invitational: TV Schedule

Fri: 1:00-4:00 p.m. (GOLF)
Sat: 2:00-3:00 p.m. (GOLF)
Sat: 3:00-5:00 p.m. (NBC)
Sun: 1:00-2:00 p.m. (GOLF)
Sun: 2:00-4:00 p.m. (NBC)

Grant Thornton Invitational: Teams

1. Madelene Sagström, Ludvig Åberg

2. Allisen Corpuz, Cameron Champ

3. Brooke Henderson, Corey Conners

4. Lilia Vu, Joel Dahmen

5. Lydia Ko, Jason Day

6. Celine Boutier, Harris English

7. Nelly Korda, Tony Finau

8. Lexi Thompson, Rickie Fowler

9. Leona Maguire, Lucas Glover

10. Mel Reid, Russell Henley

11. Cheyenne Knight, Tom Hoge

12. Andrea Lee, Billy Horschel

13. Megan Khang, Denny McCarthy

14. Charley Hull, Justin Rose

15. Ruoning Yin, Nick Taylor

16. Rose Zhang, Sahith Theegala



Please enter your name here