Pure Silk Championship Primer: History, TV, Field, Odds

Lexi Thompson and Brittany Lincicome
Lexi Thompson and Brittany Lincicome walk to the green on the 18th hole during the first round of the Kingsmill Championship on the River Course at Kingsmill Resort on May 17, 2018 in Williamsburg, Virginia. Photo by Hunter Martin/Getty Images

The LPGA Tour resumes its 2019 schedule this week in Williamsburg, Virginia for the 15th annual edition at Pure Silk Championship – the first of 12 consecutive weeks of high stakes tournament play, highlighted by four major championships, including next week’s U.S. Women’s Open.

Contested at Kingsmill Resort, the 144-player field will be headlined by nine of the top 10-ranked players in the latest Rolex Rankings, including defending champion, and world No. 4, Ariya Jutanugarn.

Other top names in Virgina chasing down the $1.3 million purse include world top-10 stars Minjee Lee, Brooke Henderson, Nelly Korda, and Lexi Thompson.

The Skinny

Tournament: Pure Silk Championship
Dates: May 23-26, 2019
Where: Williamsburg, Virginia
Course: Kingsmill Resort (River)
Distance: Par 71/6379 yards
Architect: Pete Dye (1974)
Format: 72-holes, stroke play, 36-hole cut
Purse: $1.3 million
Winning Share: $195,000
Defending Champion: Ariya Jutanugarn
Betting Favorites: Jin Young Ko, Minjee Lee, Brooke M. Henderson, Ariya Jutanugarn, Jeong-Eun Lee6, Lexi Thompson, Sei Young Kim, Carlota Ciganda, Nelly Korda, Danielle Kang,
Shanshan Feng, Sung Hyun Park

TV & Online

Rd1: Th 07:30-09:30 pm
Rd2: Fr 07:30-09:30 pm)
Rd3: Sa 03:00-06:00 pm
Rd4: Su 04:00-07:00 pm
All times EST on Golf Channel

Follow Online: Web | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

Tournament History

Kingsmill Resort
A view of a flag above the grandstands on the 18th hole during the second round of the Kingsmill Championship on the River Course at Kingsmill Resort on May 18, 2018 in Williamsburg, Virginia. Photo by Hunter Martin/Getty Images

Kingsmill has long been one of the most popular stops on the LPGA Tour, dating back to when the women first started playing this event with Michelob as the sponsor in 2003. There was a two-year hiatus in 2010-11 before the tournament resumed as the Kingsmill Championship for the next several editions, until Pure Silk took over as the title sponsor in 2019.

Prior to the LPGA coming to Kingsmill, it had been a stop on the PGA Tour for 22 seasons. This year will be the 36th LPGA or PGA event held on the River Course at Kingsmill.

The tournament boasts big-name past winners including the only multi-time winner, Cristie Kerr, who has claimed the title three times. Other top names who have won at Kingsmill include Se Ri Pak, Karrie Webb, Suzann Petterson, Annika Sorenstam, Jiyai Shin, Lizette Salas, Minjee Lee, Ariya Jutanugarn and Lexi Thompson.

History: Tournament Names

2019: Pure Silk Championship presented by Visit Williamsburg
2018: Kingsmill Championship presented by GEICO
2012-17: Kingsmill Championship
2010-11: (No tournament)
2003-09: Michelob ULTRA Open at Kingsmill

History: Recent Winners

2018: Ariya Jutanugarn (-14)
2017: Lexi Thompson (-20)
2016: Ariya Jutanugarn (-14)
2015: Minjee Lee (-15)
2014: Lizette Salas (-13)
2013: Cristie Kerr (-12)

History: Records

Low Strokes: 264 – Lexi Thompson (2017)
Low To-Par: 20-under – Lexi Thompson (2017)
Most Wins: 3 – Cristie Kerr (2005, 2009, 2013)

Defending Champion

Credit: Getty Images/Hunter Martin

Ariya Jutanugarn fired a final-round 66 and then beat In Gee Chun and Nasa Hataoka in a playoff to win the 2018 Kingsmill Championship.

Shortened to 54 holes due to torrential rainstorms, Jutanugaran entered Sunday two back of Chun and one behind Hataoka, but a final day card comprised of six birdies against one bogey saw the 22-year old Thai sign for a 5-under par, good enough to join Chun (68) and Hataoka (67) at 14-under par.

In the playoff, on the first extra hole (No. 18), Jutanugarn and Hataoka both advanced with birdies while Chun was eliminated with a par.

On the second go-round of 18, only Jutanugarn carded birdie to capture her the eighth career LPGA title.

Final Top 5

1 Ariya Jutanugarn -14
2 Nasa Hataoka -14
2 In Gee Chun -14
4 Brooke Henderson -13
5 Megan Khang -12

The Field: By the Numbers

Anna Nordqvist
Anna Nordqvist chips onto the green on the 17th hole during the second round of the Kingsmill Championship on the River Course at Kingsmill Resort on May 18, 2018 in Williamsburg, Virginia. Photo by Hunter Martin/Getty Images
World Top 10 (9)

There are nine players in the field who are ranked in the Rolex Rankings’ top 10, with only No. 6 Inbee Park opting to sit out.

  • Jin-Young Ko (1)
  • Minjee Lee (2)
  • Sung Hyun Park (3)
  • Ariya Jutanugarn (4)
  • Nasa Hataoka (5)
  • Lexi Thompson (7)
  • Brooke Henderson (8)
  • Sei Young Kim (9)
  • Nelly Korda (10)

There are 8 players (of 10) in the field who have won in 2019.

  • Celine Boutier (ISPS Handa Vic Open)
  • Nelly Korda (ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open)
  • Sung Hyun Park (HSBC Women’s World Championship)
  • Jin Young Ko (Bank of Hope Founders Cup, ANA Inspiration)
  • Nasa Hataoka (Kia Classic)
  • Brooke Henderson (LOTTE Championship)
  • Minjee Lee (HUGEL-AIR PREMIA LA Open)
  • Sei Young Kim (LPGA MEDIHEAL Championship
Former Tournament Champions (6)

There are six past champions in the field this week.

  • Ariya Jutanugarn (2016, 2018)
  • Cristie Kerr (2013, 2009, 2005)
  • Minjee Lee (2015)
  • Lizette Salas (2014)
  • Lexi Thompson (2017)
  • Karrie Webb (2006)

Full Field & Odds

Jin Young Ko in action during the 2017 LPGA season. Credit: Getty Images

Jin-Young Ko is the favorite to take home the prize this week in Virgina. The Korean, ranked No. 1 in the world, is listed 6-1 to capture her third title of the 2019 season.

Aussie Minjee Lee (world No. 2) is slightly behind at 7-1, while Brooke Henderson was 12-1. Former champions Ariya Jutanugarn of Thailand and American Lexi Thompson were 14-1, alongside Korean Jeongeun Lee.

Top-5 Betting Favorites

1. Jin-Young Ko (6-1)
2. Minjee Lee (7-1)
3. Brooke Henderson (12-1)
4. Ariya Jutanugarn (14-1)
4. Lexi Thompson (14-1)
4. Jeongeun Lee (14-1)



Please enter your name here