Rory McIlroy Elected PGA Tour Player Advisory Council Chairman for 2021

Rory McIlroy
Rory McIlroy prepares to play his shot from the first tee during the final round of the BMW Championship at Conway Farms Golf Club on September 20, 2015 in Lake Forest, Ill. Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images

Rory McIlroy was elected as chairman of the Player Advisory Council (PAC), the 16-man committee that provides input to the PGA Tour’s Policy Board – a committee which includes a four-player representation alongside a myriad of Tour executives such as Commissioner Jay Monahan.

The Northern Irishman will serve a one-year term as chairman of the PAC, and then succeed Jordan Spieth as player director on the Tour’s Policy Board, beginning in 2022.

“I’ve enjoyed being on the PAC the last couple of years and I think that with what’s happening between the PGA Tour and the European Tour I have the ear of the PGA Tour and I have the ear of the European Tour,” McIlroy told

“I just feel like I’ve been around a long time and I feel I can maybe help facilitate things and maybe guide things in a certain direction for what I think is better for everyone.”

McIlroy will be the first foreign-born player to take on the role as player director. He will be joined on the policy board by James Hahn, Charley Hoffman and Kevin Kisner.

According to an Associated Press report, players generally want the four players on the board to reflect the tour as a whole, and not just four superstars who might not relate to the rank-and-file players.

Other members of the PAC, in addition to McIlroy, are Russell Knox, Kevin Streelman, Ryan Armour, Paul Casey, David Hearn, Harry Higgs, Billy Horschel, Zach Johnson, Anirban Lahiri, Peter Malnati, Ryan Palmer, Jon Rahm, Justin Thomas, Harold Varner III and Johnson Wagner.



Please enter your name here