Sergio Garcia Loses It; Gets DQ’d for “Serious Misconduct”

Sergio Garcia lost it on Friday after getting a bad lie in the bunker during the second round of the Saudi International. After back-to-back birdies on Nos. 2 and 3 (his 11th and 12th of the day) at Royal Greens Golf & Country Club, Garcia attempted to get home in two on the par-5 fourth hole, only to see his ball land in a greenside bunker.

The Spaniard blamed his bad lie in the sand on the way the bunker had been raked. When his next shot landed back in the bunker, the 2017 Masters champ lost his mind and took several swipes at the sand. (See below)

He went on to save bogey, and would bogey two of his last four holes to finish even-par 70.

Garcia’s anger carried over to Saturday where he was disqualified by the Tour under rule 1.2a for “serious misconduct” after damaging a “couple of greens.”

Rule 1.2a allows for disqualification if a player has committed serious misconduct.

“I respect the decision of my disqualification,” said Garcia in a statement. “In frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, for which I apologise for, and I have informed my fellow players it will never happen again.”

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here