The CJ Cup Byron Nelson Primer: History, TV, Field, Odds

Jordan Spieth AT&T Byron Nelson at TPC Craig Ranch
Jordan Spieth on the 5th tee during the third round of the AT&T Byron Nelson at TPC Craig Ranch on May 14, 2022 in McKinney, Texas. (Photo by Sam Greenwood via Getty Images)

The PGA Tour stays in the southwest, traveling from Louisiana to Texas for the annual Byron Nelson event.

Contested for the fourth year at TPC Craig Ranch, The CJ Cup Byron Nelson field will be headlined by Texans Jordan Spieth (No. 20) and Will Zalatoris (30).

The Lonestar State natives will be joined by two other top-30 ranked players: Jason Day (22) and Tom Kim (23).

What follows is a round-up of information and historical data to get you prepped for a weekend of golf in Texas.

The CJ Cup Byron Nelson

This week’s Primer is powered by Titleist Golf Store at Amazon.

PGA Tour: At-a-Glance

Jason Day Wins 2023 AT&T Byron Nelson
Jason Day looks on from the 16th tee during the final round of the AT&T Byron Nelson at TPC Craig Ranch on May 14, 2023 in McKinney, TX. (Photo by Mike Mulholland via Getty Images)

Name: The CJ Cup Byron Nelson
Title Sponsor: CJ Group
Tour Debut: 1944
Debut Name: Texas Victory Open
Dates: May 2-5, 2024
Where: McKinney, Texas
Course: TPC Craig Ranch
Distance: Par 71, 7414 yards
Architect: Tom Weiskopf
Format: 72-holes, Stroke play
Field: 152 Players (36-hole cut)
Purse: $9,500,000
Winning Share: $1,710,000
FedExCup: 500
Defending Champion: Jason Day

How to Follow The CJ Cup Byron Nelson

Brooks Koepka
Brooks Koepka watches a replay on the monitor after playing his shot on the seventh hole during the third round of the AT&T Byron Nelson at Trinity Forest GC on May 11, 2019 in Dallas, TX. Photo by Stuart Franklin/Getty Images

TELEVISION: Thu-Fri: 4-7 p.m. (GOLF); Sat-Sun: 1-3 p.m. (GOLF), 3-6 p.m. (CBS)

PGA TOUR LIVE: Thu-Fri: 7:45 a.m.-7 p.m. (ESPN+); Sat-Sun: 8 a.m.-6 p.m. (ESPN+)
Watch on ESPN+

PGA TOUR RADIO: Thu-Fri: 1-7 p.m.; Sat-Sun: 1-6 p.m.
(PGA TOUR Radio on SiriusXM and

LINKS: Web | Instagram | X/Twitter | Facebook

The CJ Cup Byron Nelson History

Jack Nicklaus Byron Nelson Golf Classic
Jack Nicklaus receives the winner’s trophy from Byron Nelson after Nicklaus defeated Arnold Palmer on the first hole of sudden death playoff to take the $20,000 top prize of the 1970 Byron Nelson Golf Classic at Preston Trail Golf Club in Dallas, Texas. (Photo by Bettman via Getty Images)

The Byron Nelson has traditionally been contested in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1944. It is one of two PGA Tour stops in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex (the other being the Colonial stop) – the only metropolitan area to host two events.

Called the “Texas Victory Open,” the $2,000 first-prize check in that inaugural 1944 tournament was awarded to Dallas native Byron Nelson, who claimed a 10-shot victory over 17-time PGA Tour winner Jug McSpaden. At 8-under par, Nelson was the only player in the field to finish in the red.

Sam Snead and Ben Hogan won the next two editions before it was halted for the second world war.

After a 10-year absence, the tournament returned in 1956, and due to infighting over the tournament name, it held two iterations just a month apart – in May (Dallas Centennial Open) and June (Texas International Open), both at Preston Hollow Country Club.

Along with Nelson, Hogan, and Snead, who won twice more (1957-58), the tournament produced an impressive list of winners in its infancy, with major champions Don January, Peter Thomson (his only victory in the U.S.), Julius Boros, and Roberto De Vicenzo all taking home a trophy in the tournament’s first 10 editions following its sabbatical.

Byron Nelson presents the winner’s trophy to Payne Stewart at the conclusion of the GTE Byron Nelson Golf Classic on May 6, 1990 at TPC at Las Colinas in Dallas, TX. Credit: PGA TOUR Archive via Getty Images

Since then, winners have included legends such as Jack Nicklaus, Lanny Wadkins, Raymond Floyd, Tom Watson, Payne Stewart, Ben Crenshaw, Vijay Singh, Ernie Els, Phil Mickelson, Sergio Garcia, Tiger Woods and Jason Day.

Watson holds the tournament record for most victories with four – including three-straight titles (1978-80), followed by a hat trick of trophies from Snead, and two apiece by Nicklaus, Garcia, Day, Bruce Lietzke and K.H. Lee.

In 1968, the tournament officially incorporated Nelson into its name, becoming the Byron Nelson Golf Classic. It was the first time a tournament was named after a player. Some 20 years later, in 1988, the tournament brought on GTE as its first title sponsor: the GTE Byron Nelson Golf Classic. GTE/Verizon remained the title sponsors through the 2002 edition, with EDS/HP paying for the tournament title until 2014. AT&T was the title sponsor from 2015 until 2023. The CJ Group paid for the title rights, starting in 2024.

History: Tournament Names
  • The CJ Cup Byron Nelson (2024-)
  • AT&T Byron Nelson (2015-2023)
  • HP Byron Nelson Championship (2009-14)
  • EDS Byron Nelson Championship (2003-08)
  • Verizon Byron Nelson Classic (2001-02)
  • GTE Byron Nelson Classic (1999-2000)
  • GTE Byron Nelson Golf Classic (1988-98)
  • Byron Nelson Golf Classic (1968-87)
  • Dallas Open Invitational (1957-67)
  • Texas International Open (June 1956)
  • Dallas Centennial Open (May 1956)
  • Dallas Invitational (1946)
  • Dallas Open (1945)
  • Texas Victory Open (1944)
History: Records

4 – Tom Watson (1975, 1978-80)
3 – Sam Snead (1945, 1957-58)
2 – Jack Nicklaus (1970-71)
2 – Bruce Lietzke (1981, 1988)
2 – Sergio Garcia (2004, 2016)
2 – Jason Day (2010, 2023)

261 – Rory Sabbatini (2009), Aaron Wise (2018), Sung Kang (2019), Jason Day (2023)
26-under – K.H. Lee (2022)

History: Recent Winners

2023: Jason Day (-23)
2022: K.H. Lee (-26)
2021: K.H. Lee (-25)
2020: No tournament (COVID)
2019: Sung Kang (-23)
2018: Aaron Wise (-23)
2017: Billy Horschel (-12)
2016: Sergio Garcia (-15)
2015: Steven Bowditch (-18)
2014: Brendon Todd (-14)
2013: Bae Sang-Moon (-13)

The CJ Cup Byron Nelson Field

Will Zalatoris Wins 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
Will Zalatoris on the 17th green during the final round of the FedEx St. Jude Championship at TPC Southwind on Aug 14, 2022 in Memphis, Tenn. (Photo by Stacy Revere via Getty Images)

The field teeing it up this week at TPC Craig Ranch in McKinney, Texas is fairly weak but will be headlined by Texas stars Will Zalatoris and Jordan Spieth.

Both Zalatoris and Spieth enter in suspect form, each looking for their first win since 2022. Both also come in off poor finishes at Hilton Head (Spieth T39, Zalatoris T44).

Overall, the field will include only four players ranked in the OWGR’s top 30: Spieth (20), Jason Day (22), Tom Kim (23), and Zalatoris (30).

Top-5 Betting Favorites

1. Jordan Spieth (+1600)
2. Si Woo Kim (+1800)
3. Will Zalatoris (+2000)
3. Jason Day (+2000)
5. Tom Kim (+2500)
5. Adam Scott (+2500)
5. Tom Hoge (+2500)
5. Byeong Hun An (+2500)
5. Min Woo Lee (+2500)
5. Alex Noren (+2500)

Full Field & Odds

Credits: PGA Tour Media, Getty Images



Please enter your name here