While confusion reigned at Oakmont, over the controversy surrounding the USGA, on Twitter, it was anger and mockery which ruled the day.
To set the table: On the 5th hole, Johnson was in the midst of a putt, but noticed that his ball had moved. He immediately waved over a USGA Official, who deemed there to be no infraction.
An hour or so later, on the 12th hole (some 7 holes later), the USGA informed Johnson of a potential penalty.
The USGA’s Jeff Hall then appeared on FOX’s broadcast, and stated to the national TV audience that the USGA would make a determination AFTER the round.
“We have some concerns, so we put him on notice,” said Hall, the USGA’s managing director of competitions.
Will the @usga hear what players are saying on social media and dig in? Or backdown? Truly unimaginable situation in annals of the game.
— Geoff Shackelford (@GeoffShac) June 19, 2016
Twitter absolutely lit up, with many of DJ’s PGA Tour colleagues chiming in.
This is ridiculous… No penalty whatsoever for DJ. Let the guy play without this crap in his head. Amateur hour from @USGA
— Rory McIlroy (@McIlroyRory) June 19, 2016
Lemme get this straight.. DJ doesn't address it. It's ruled that he didn't cause it to move. Now you tell him he may have? Now? This a joke?
— Jordan Spieth (@JordanSpieth) June 19, 2016
— Rickie Fowler (@RickieFowler) June 19, 2016
Wow @USGA wow.
— Keegan Bradley (@Keegan_Bradley) June 19, 2016
Andy North, the two-time U.S. Open champ called it a “travesty and embarrassment” on ESPN.
Former Super Bowl winning coach Brian Billick used a football analogy to voice outrage.
Upon further review, on that 1st Q TD you scored, the WR didn't actually get 2nd foot down. So you have instead lost the game by 4 points.
— Brian Billick (@CoachBillick) June 19, 2016
Sally Jenkins of the Washington Post, compared it to the NFL’s handling of Deflategate.
The NFL would like to thank the USGA for rendering them only the second dumbest governing body.
— Sally Jenkins (@sallyjenx) June 19, 2016
Speaking of Goodell.
— Pro Golf Weekly (@ProGolfWeekly) June 19, 2016
Despite all the distractions, DJ was simply clutch down the stretch, especially on the 18th and final hole.
In the end, Johnson was docked a stroke for the invisible infraction. And wound up beating the trio of Jim Furyk, Scott Piercy and Shane Lowry by three shots, not four.
Dustin hit with the penalty. Wins by three instead of four. Classic. #USOpen
— Brian Wacker (@brianwacker1) June 20, 2016
After his win, congratulations poured in through Twitter for the one-time Best Player To Never Win a Major.
— Graeme McDowell (@Graeme_McDowell) June 20, 2016
Some great golf by @DJohnsonPGA all week, strong way to finish overcoming that rules farce. Happy Father's Day to DJ and all of you.
— Tiger Woods (@TigerWoods) June 20, 2016
Finally, here’s Pro Golf Weekly’s quick tribute to the 2016 U.S. Open winner. What a day.