U.S. Open: 18 Facts By The Numbers

US Open 1990 Medinah Hale Irwin's lap of honour on 18th hole. Getty File Photo.

Going forward, the tour now moves to Pennsylvania and historic Oakmont Country Club, playing host to the United States Open Championship, from June 16-19.

Here a 16 fun numerical-based facts, related to Oakmont and the U.S. Open.

Brief History


The first U.S. Open was played in 1895, and this year marks the 116th playing of America’s national golf championship. It is the second oldest golf championship in the world, behind The Open Championship (British).


That’s the number of years the championship was not played, as it was cancelled in 1917-18 and 1942-45 for the two world wars.


There have been 2 U.S Open trophies. The original one, created in the opening year of 1895, was destroyed during the fire at the Tam O’Shanter clubhouse in 1946 (an exact replica was designed the following season, in 1947).

Two is also the number of strokes England’s Horace Rawlins went on to win, beating Willie Dunn by two strokes.


For the first 15 years, all titles were won by English (4) and Scottish (11) golfers. At the 16th U.S. Open championship, John McDermott became the first American to win. McDermott won in 1911 at the Chicago Golf Club, beating fellow countrymen Mike Brady and George Simpson in a playoff.


At 19 years-old (10 months, and 14 days), John McDermott is, to this day, the youngest to ever win the U.S Open.


Hale Irwin, at 45 in 1990, is the tournament’s oldest champion.


Sam Snead is the oldest player to make the cut. In 1973, Snead, then 61 years-old, made the cut at Oakmont, finishing T-29.



The age of defending champion Jordan Spieth when he defeated Dustin Johnson and South Africa’s Louis Oosthuizen by a single stroke at Chambers Bay.


Willie Anderson, Bobby Jones, Ben Hogan and Jack Nicklaus hold the record for the most U.S. Open wins (4).


Anderson, of Scotland, is also the only champion to win three consecutive U.S. Open banners (1903-05).


Jack Nicklaus holds the championship record for the most consecutive starts. Jack teed it up in 44 straight U.S Opens, from 1957-2000.


Phil Mickelson, who needs a U.S. Open title to complete the career grand slam, holds the (unfortunate) record of most runners-ups in the U.S. Open tournament. The 5-time major champion has finished in the silver position six times, most recently in 2013, losing to England’s Justin Rose by two strokes.


The largest margin of victory in the tournament’s history came in the year 2000, when 3-time U.S. Open champion Tiger Woods finished at 12-under par to win by a staggering 15 strokes.


The lowest aggregate score was recorded in 2011 by Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy, who finished with a score of 268, 16-under par.



Oakmont Country Club is a par 70, 18-hole golf, measuring 7,255 yards in length. It’s considered to be one of the most difficult and challenging golf courses in the country with 210 deep bunkers.


This will be a record 9th U.S. Open hosted by Oakmont.



The United States Golf Association (USGA) has granted a special exemption 51 times to 33 players over the last half-century.


Jack Nicklaus, winner of four U.S. Open banner, was granted the most special exemptions (8).


Please enter your name here