2022 PNC Championship Primer: History, TV, Teams, Format

2022 PNC Championship Primer Tiger Charlie Woods
Tiger Woods and Charlie Woods celebrate a birdie on the 12th hole during the final round of the PNC Championship at the Ritz Carlton GC Grande Lakes on Dec 19, 2021 in Orlando, Fla. (Photo by Sam Greenwood via Getty Images)

The PGA Tour’s silly season remains in Florida as the circuit heads north from Naples to Orlando for the 24th edition of the PNC Championship.

Ironically, it will mark the PGA Tour’s second straight week at a Greg Norman-designed layout as the star-studded field will attempt to navigate the Ritz-Carlton’s challenging 7100 yards.

Tiger Woods, alongside son Charlie, will headline the two-day tournament. Co-stars include reigning PGA Champion Justin Thomas, and father Mike; three-time major winner Jordan Spieth and father Shawn; reigning Olympic Gold medalist Nelly Korda and father Petr; and defending champions John Daly and son John Jr.

Tournament Skinny

2022 PNC Championship Primer Tiger Charlie Woods
Charlie Woods tees off on the 1st hole during the PNC Championship at Ritz-Carlton GC on Dec 18, 2021 in Orlando, Fla. (Photo by Ben Jared for the PGA TOUR via Getty Images)
PNC Championship

Title Sponsor: PNC Financial Services
PGA Tour Debut: 1995
Owners: NBC Sports, IMG
Dates: Dec. 16-18, 2022
Where: Orlando, Fla.
CourseRitz-Carlton GC
Format: Scramble (best shot)
Trophy: Wille Park Belts
Purse: $1,085,000
Winning Share: $200,000
TV Network: NBC, Golf Channel
2021 Champions: John Daly & John Daly Jr.

PNC Championship History

2022 PNC Championship Primer Lee Trevino
Lee Trevino reacts to the gallery on the 18th green during the Pro-Am of the 2018 PNC Father Son Challenge on Dec 13, 2018 at the The Ritz-Carlton GC in Orlando, Fla. (Photo by Cliff Welch for Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

Debuting in 1995 as the Office Depot Father & Son Challenge at The Windsor Club, the 20 two-player teams initially consisted of a tour pro who’d won a major championship or The Players Championship, alongside their son – hence the Father/Son Challenge title.

Over the years, the rules were relaxed, allowing touring pros to team up with pretty much any family member including parents, children and even grandchildren.

Fuzzy Zoeller was the first to tweak the gender policy when he teamed up with daughter Gretchen in 2005, while in 2013, Arnold Palmer became the first to team with a grandchild when he played with grandson Sam Saunders.

The tour pro, however, still must own a Major or Players championship title, while the guest team member cannot be a touring professional at the time of the tournament.

The event is played over two days (36 holes), using a scramble format, with the winner awarded the Willie Park Trophy, in recognition of the father and son British Open champions Willie Park Sr. and Willie Park Jr.

Raymond Floyd and son Raymond Floyd Jr. won the inaugural trophy (1995) in a six-shot blowout. The duo went on to win the next two editions as well. The Hall-of-Famer Floyd returned to the winner’s circle in 2000 and 2001 – this time with younger son Robert. Floyd owns the record for most tournament victories with five.

2022 PNC Championship Primer Raymond Floyd and Raymond Floyd Jr.
Raymond Floyd and Raymond Floyd Jr. during the Office Depot Father Son Challenge at Windsor CC in Vero Beach, Florida. (Photo by Jamie Squire via Getty Images)

Bernhard Langer (4), Larry Nelson (3) and Davis Love III (2) are the only others to have won multiple times. Floyd, Langer and Nelson are the only three champions to have won playing alongside different children.

Lee Trevino is the only player to have participated in all 23 editions. Floyd, Nelson and Hale Irwin each played the first 17.

After several years of primarily being an event comprised of senior circuit players and retired icons, the inclusion of superstars Tiger Woods (alongside son Charlie) and Justin Thomas (with father Mike) in 2020 sent fan interest in the year-end event through the roof.

The Thomas team, winners in 2020, became the first duo to claim victory with a father as the guest partner.

The defending champions are John Daly and son “Little John” Daly Jr.

2022 PNC Championship Primer John Daly and son John Daly Jr.
John Daly and son, John Daly Jr., hold the belts after winning the PNC Championship at Ritz-Carlton GC on Dec 19, 2021 in Orlando, Fla. (Photo by Ben Jared for the PGA TOUR via Getty Images)
History: Recent Winners
  • John Daly, John Daly Jr. (2021)
  • Jutin Thomas, Mike Thomas (2020)
  • Bernhard Langer, Jason Langer (2019)
  • Davis Love III, Dru Love (2018)
  • Angel Cabrera, Angel Cabrera Jr. (2017)
History: Venues
  • The Windsor Club, Vero Beach, FL (1995–1998)
  • Twin Eagles GC, Naples, FL (1999)
  • The Ocean Club, Paradise Island, Bahamas (2000–2002)
  • Champions Gate Resort, Orlando, FL (2003–2008)
  • Not Contested (2009–2011)
  • Ritz Carlton GC, Orlando, FL (2012-Present)

PNC Championship: TV Schedule

2022 PNC Championship Primer Tiger Woods
Tiger Woods is interviewed during the Pro-Am ahead of the PNC Championship on the Grande Lakes Orlando course at the Ritz-Carlton GC on Dec 17, 2021 in Orlando, Fla. (Photo by Douglas P. DeFelice via Getty Images)

Fri: 3:00-5:00 p.m. (Golf Channel)*
Sat: 1:00-2:00 p.m. (Peacock)
Sat: 2:00-6:00 p.m. (NBC)
Sun: 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (Peacock)
Sun: 12:30-1:30 p.m. (Golf Channel)
Sun: 1:30-4:30 p.m. (NBC)
* Pro-Am

PNC Championship: Teams

2022 PNC Championship Primer Tiger Woods Justin Thomas
Tiger Woods and Justin Thomas wait on the 18th tee during the first round of the PNC Championship at the Ritz Carlton GC Grande Lakes on Dec 18, 2021 in Orlando, Fla. (Photo by Sam Greenwood via Getty Images)
  1. Stewart Cink & Connor Cink
  2. John Daly & John Daly, Jr.
  3. David Duval & Brady Duval
  4. Nick Faldo & Matt Faldo
  5. Jim Furyk & Tanner Furyk
  6. Padraig Harrington & Patrick Harrington
  7. Nelly Korda & Petr Korda
  8. Matt Kuchar & Carson Kuchar
  9. Bernhard Langer & Jason Langer
  10. Tom Lehman & Sean Lehman
  11. Justin Leonard & Luke Leonard
  12. Anika Sorenstam & Will McGee
  13. Mark O’Meara & Shaun O’Meara
  14. Gary Player & Jordan Player
  15. Nick Price & Greg Price
  16. Vijay Singh & Qass Singh
  17. Jordan Spieth & Shawn Spieth
  18. Justin Thomas & Mike Thomas
  19. Lee Trevino & Daniel Trevino
  20. Tiger Woods & Charlie Woods


Please enter your name here