2024 RBC Canadian Open Primer: History, TV, Field, Odds

Nick Taylor Wins 2023 Canadian Open
Nick Taylor celebrates with his caddie after making an eagle putt on the 4th playoff hole to win the RBC Canadian Open at Oakdale Golf & CC on June 11, 2023 in Toronto, Ontario. (Photo by Vaughn Ridley via Getty Images)

In two weeks, it’s the U.S. Open. This week it’s the Canadian Open.

The RBC Canadian Open hosts the PGA Tour’s only stop north of the border with home hero Nick Taylor returning to defend his title.

The 36-year-old Canadian will be joined by compatriots such as Corey Conners, Adam Hadwin, and Mackenzie Hughes.

Two-time Canadian Open champion, Rory McIlroy, will headline the longtime PGA Tour event. Other marquee names teeing it up this week at Hamilton Golf & Country Club include Sam Burns, Sahith Theegala, Tommy Fleetwood and Shane Lowry, among others.

Below, are more details to help you get primed for the 2024 edition of the RBC Canadian Open.

2024 RBC Canadian Open Primer

PGA Tour At-a-Glance

Tournament: RBC Canadian Open
Dates: May 30-June 2, 2024
Where: Toronto, Ontario
Course: Hamilton Golf & CC
Distance: Par 70, 7084 yards
Format: 72-holes, stroke play, 36-hole cut
Purse: $9,400,000
Winning Share: $1,692,000
Winner’s Pts: 500/43 (FEC/OWGR)
Defending Champion: Nick Taylor

How to Follow the Canadian Open

Mike Weir
Mike Weir and caddie Rob Roxborough on the seventh tee during the second round of the 2017 RBC Canadian Open at Glen Abbey Golf Club in Oakville, Canada. Photo by Minas Panagiotakis/Getty Images

TELEVISION: Thu-Fri: 3-6 p.m. (GOLF); Sat-Sun: 1-3 p.m. (GOLF), 3-6 p.m. (CBS)

STREAMING: Thu-Fri: 6:45 a.m.-6 p.m. (ESPN+); Sat-Sun: 7:45 a.m.-6 p.m. (ESPN+)
Subscribe to ESPN+

PGA TOUR RADIO: Thu-Fri: 12-6 p.m.; Sat-Sun: 1-6 p.m.
(PGA TOUR Radio on SiriusXM and PGATOUR.com/liveaudio)

PGA TOUR LINKS: Website | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

TOURNAMENT LINKS: Website | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

RBC Canadian Open History

Jack Nicklaus Canadian Open
Jack Nicklaus poses with a cake which was presented to him at Bristol Place Hotel in Etobicoke in 1977. It represents Glen Abbey’s 18th hole. Credit: Dick Darrell/Toronto Star via Getty Images

One of the longest-running tournaments on the PGA Tour, the Canadian Open first debuted in 1904 at the Royal Montreal Golf Club in Dorval, Quebec. An Englishman by the name of Jack Oke claimed victory at the inaugural edition with a score of 16-over-par.

Canadian-born players captured seven of the first 10 Canadian Open trophies, but since World War I, only two native Canucks have made his way to the winner’s circle: Pat Fletcher (1954) and Nick Taylor (2023). Americans have won 72 of the Opens, with countrymen of England and Australia compiling eight wins apiece.

A tournament that was long considered a fifth major, and part of “the Triple Crown” (Canada, U.S., British), the Canadian Open annually drew elite fields until it was moved on the 1988 PGA Tour schedule and its field strength dropped off significantly.

Notable winners include Tommy Armour, Walter Hagen, Sam Snead, Byron Nelson, Bobby Locke, Arnold Palmer, Billy Casper, Lee Trevino, Greg Norman, Nick Price, Tiger Woods, Vijay Singh and Rory McIlroy.

Lee Trevino
Golfer Lee Trevino in action shortly before he won the 1977 Canadian Open at Glen Abbey Golf Club in Oakville, Ontario. Photo by Reg Innell/Toronto Star via Getty Images

Trevino, a three-time winner, is the only player in history to win the national open championship of the United States (US Open), Canada (Canadian Open), Britain (British Open), and Mexico (Mexico Open). In 1971, the “Merry Mex” won what was then considered the triple crown, scoring victories at the U.S. Open, Canadian Open and British Open in a span of 19 days.

American Leo Diegel holds the tournament record for victories, recording four in a six-year span from 1924 to 1929.

The Canadian Open has traditionally rotated between courses, with Glen Abbey Golf Course hosting the most often (30 editions). This will be the fifth edition at Hamilton (2003, 2006, 2012, 2019, 2024).

HISTORY: Recent Winners

2023: Nick Taylor (-17)
2022: Rory McIlroy (-19)
2021: No Tournament (COVID)
2020: No Tournament (COVID)
2019: Rory McIlroy (-22)
2018: Dustin Johnson (-23)
2017: Jhonattan Vegas (-21)
2016: Jhonattan Vegas (-12)
2015: Jason Day (-17)

HISTORY: Tournament Names

2008-24: RBC Canadian Open
2006-07: Canadian Open
1994-2005: Bell Canadian Open
1904-93: Canadian Open

HISTORY: Tournament Records

Score: Rory McIlroy, 258 (2019)
To Par: Johnny Palmer, -25 (1952)

4 – Leo Diegel (1924-25, 1928-29)
3 – Tommy Armour (1927, 1930, 1934)
3 – Sam Snead (1938, 1940-41)
3 – Lee Trevino (1971, 1977, 1979)

RBC Canadian Open Field

Rory McIlroy Wins RBC Canadian Open
Rory McIlroy walks to the 14th fairway with caddie, Harry Diamond, during the final round of the RBC Canadian Open at Hamilton Golf and Country Club on June 09, 2019 in Hamilton, Canada. Photo by Michael Reaves/Getty Images

Two-time Canadian Open champion Rory McIlroy will headline the field up north.

McIlroy’s first win occurred at Hamilton in 2019 so add home field advantage to the top-ranked player in the field. The Northern Irishman enters off a T12 at the PGA and a win at the Wells Fargo.

Sahith Theegala is one of only four top-20 ranked players in the field. The American also comes in off a T12 at the PGA. And before that he posted a T3 at Hilton Head.

Tommy Fleetwood lost in a playoff to Nick Taylor in his Canadian Open debut in 2023. The Englishman enters off three top-15s in his last five starts, including two top-10s.

Sam Burns missed the cut at last year’s Canadian Open but finished T4 in 2022. The world No. 27 enters in suspect form but did post a T13 a few weeks ago at the Wells Fargo.

Sam Burns Wins 2023 WGC Dell Match Play
Sam Burns and Cameron Young bump fists after Burns won the WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play at Austin CC on Mar 26, 2023 in Austin, TX. (Photo by David Buono for Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

Following a T9 at the Masters, Cameron Young moved to No. 14 in the world. But since Augusta, it’s been a struggle for the third-year tour pro: T62, T34, T63. He will look to bounce back up north. He finished T57 in his debut last year.

Irishman Shane Lowry enters off a team win (alongside Rory McIlroy) in New Orleans and a T6 at the PGA.

Nick Taylor (world No. 30) became the first Canadian since 1954 to win the country’s national championship. Other top Canadian hopefuls this year include Corey Conners (49), Adam Hadwin (55), Taylor Pendrith (62), Mackenzie Hughes (68) and Adam Svensson (86). This marks the first time six Canadians have been ranked inside the world top 90 entering Canada’s national championship.

Top-5 Betting Favorites

1. Rory McIlroy 5-1
2. Sahith Theegala 12-1
3. Tommy Fleetwood 14-1
4. Sam Burns 18-1
5. Shane Lowry 20-1

Credits: PGA Tour Media, Getty Images



Please enter your name here