Primer: 2017 Nedbank Golf Challenge

Nedbank Golf Challenge hosted by Gary Player

The Nedbank Golf Challenge hosted by Gary Player is the second of three consecutive Rolex Series events which concludes with the season-ending DP World Tour Championship in Dubai.

As one of eight Rolex Series events in 2017, the field in South Africa is loaded with talent, headlined by Race to Dubai leader Tommy Fleetwood, and defending champion Alex Noren (No. 8).

Additionally, four players ranked in the RTD top 10 will tee it up, including Tyrrell Hatton (5), Ross Fisher (6), Rafa Cabrera Bello (7), and Francesco Molinari (9).

Three-time major winner, Padraig Harrington, fresh off a solo-four finish in Turkey, will be joined in Sun City by three other major champions, including Louis Oosthuizen (2010 Open Championship), Charl Schwartzel (2011 Masters) and Martin Kaymer (2010 US PGA Championship and 2014 US Open).

With the exception of winner Justin Rose, every player who finished in the top 10 last week will also be in this week’s field, headlined by runner-ups Dylan Frittelli and Nicolas Colsaerts.

Ian Poulter, Andy Sullivan, and Lee Westwood are some of the other familiar names.

In all 14 of the top 20 on the Race to Dubai Rankings will be teeing it up at Gary Player Country Club.


NAME: Nedbank Golf Challenge hosted by Gary Player
DATES: Nov. 9-12, 2017
COURSE: Gary Player Country Club
WHERE: Sun City, South Africa
DISTANCE: Par 72 / 7,831 yards
ARCHITECT: Gary Player
MONEY: $7.5M Purse, $1.25M Winner’s Share
2016 WINNER: Alex Noren


1 Tommy Fleetwood (ENG) 4,114,088
2 Justin Rose (ENG) 3,979,250
3 Sergio Garcia (ESP) 3,184,582
4 Jon Rahm (ESP) 2,898,457
5 Tyrrell Hatton 2,640,074
6 Ross Fisher (ENG)2,492,831
7 Rafa Cabrera Bello (ESP) 2,367,544
8 Alex Noren (SWE) 2,087,155
9 Francesco Molinari (ITA) 1,885,390
10 Rory McIlroy (NIR) 1,832,091


ROUND 1: THU 6:00 – 9:00 AM
ROUND 2: FRI 6:00 – 9:00 AM
ROUND 3: SAT 6:00 – 9:00 AM
ROUND 4: SUN 6:00 – 9:00 AM
All times EST


Alex Noren posted a final-round 63 to capture the Nedbank Golf Challenge hosted by Gary Player, the fourth European Tour win of the season, and eighth of his career.

In Sunday’s closing round, the Swede carded an eagle, eight birdies and a bogey to finish with a four-day total of 14 under, six clear of 54-hole leader, Jeunghun Wang, who shot 75.

Ricardo Gouveia, Alejandro Cañizares, Victor Dubuisson, Branden Grace and Andy Sullivan were a shot back at 7 under.

The win capped off a spectacular four-title season for Noren, who jumped to No. 9 in the world rankings following his Sun City victory.


1 Alex Noren 69-67-75-63 (-14)
2 Jeunghun Wang 68-73-64-75 (-8)
3 Ricardo Gouveia 74-68-72-67 (-7)
3 Alejandro Canizares 71-68-74-68 (-7)
3 Victor Dubuisson 69-75-69-68 (-7)
3 Branden Grace 71-69-71-70 (-7)
3 Andrew Sullivan 72-69-68-72 (-7)


The Gary Player Country Club is the third longest course in European Tour history, stretching a massive 7,831 yards and has been the home of the Nedbank Golf Challenge since 1981.

The course, which debuted in 1979, is known for its prodigious length and dramatic backdrops of the Pilanesberg Mountains.


  • The Nedbank Golf Challenge became part of the European Tour schedule for the first time in 2014.
    • In 2017, it became part of the Rolex Series.
  • Noren’s six-shot victory and 14 under par total were records for the event since it became a European Tour event
  • Three players have won the event on three or more occasions: David Frost (1989, 1990, 1992), Nick Price (1993, 1994, 1997, 1998) and Ernie Els (1999, 2000, 2002).
    • Lee Westwood is a two-time winner (2010, 2011).
  • Els holds the tournament scoring record with a total of 263 (-25) in 1999.
  • There have been 15 different major champions who have won in Sun City: Seve Ballesteros, Els, Raymond Floyd, Jim Furyk, Sergio Garcia, Retief Goosen, Trevor Immelman, Martin Kaymer, Bernhard Langer, Johnny Miller, Corey Pavin, Price, Henrik Stenson, Danny Willett and Ian Woosnam

Credit: European Tour Media, Getty Images


Please enter your name here