Pro Golf Weekly

The 29 Major Winners Since Tiger’s Last

There have been 38 major championships contested since the 2008 U.S. Open, the last time Tiger Woods put a major trophy on the shelf.

If a first-time major winner is crowned at the Masters this year, he’ll become the 30th golfer to win a major since Tiger’s epic victory at Torrey Pines.

Tiger Woods
Credit: Getty Images

Of the 38 majors, 15 have been captured by six players, with Rory McIlroy (4) and Jordan Spieth (3) leading the way. Phil Mickelson, Bubba Watson, Martin Kaymer and Padraig Harrington each have two in this span.

That leaves 23 with one major in that stretch: Angel Cabrera, Lucas Glover, Stewart Cink, Y.E. Yang, Graeme McDowell, Louis Oosthuizen, Charl Schwartzel, Darren Clarke, Keegan Bradley, Ernie Els, Webb Simpson, Adam Scott, Justin Rose, Jason Dufner, Zach Johnson, Jason Day, Danny Willett, Dustin Johnson, Henrik Stenson, Jimmy Walker, Sergio Garcia, Brooks Koepka, Justin Thomas.

Prior to this dry spell, the longest Woods went without a major title was 10 editions (twice: 1997-199, 2002-2005).

Jeff Shain

Jeff is a contributor to Pro Golf Weekly. He is the managing editor of Prime Sports, and a weekly contributor to As a member of the Golf Writer's Association of America, Jeff has covered golf for nearly two decades, including stops at the Orlando Sentinel, Miami Herald and The Island Packet in South Carolina.

Add comment

Up Next On Tour

DATES 1/10-13, 2019
EVENT Sony Open
COURSE Waialae Country Club
LOCALE Honolulu, Hawaii
PURSE $6,400,00
WIN SHARE $1,152,000
DEFENDING Patton Kizzire



Like Us On Facebook