By The Numbers: WGC-Bridgestone Invitational Field

Dustin Johnson and Jordan Spieth on the 18th green during the first round of the SBS Tournament of Champions at the Plantation Course at Kapalua Golf Club on Jan 5, 2017 in Lahaina, Hawaii. (Photo by Sam Greenwood via Getty Images)

The 2017 WGC Bridgestone Invitational will once again be contested at Firestone Country Club in Akron, Ohio.

The Bridgestone Invitational is in its 19th season on the PGA Tour’s schedule, and one of the original three WGCs which launched during the 1999 season. The first WGC Bridgestone Invitational was played in August of 1999, with Tiger Woods edging Phil Mickelson by a shot and check for $1M.

Because World Golf Championships are exclusive tournaments, the 76-player field in Akron is absolutely loaded with big name stars, including all 10 of Official World Golf Rankings Top 10.

The defending champion is World No. 1 Dustin Johnson, who will return to Ohio to defend his title. Other marquee names include Jordan Spieth (No .2), Rory McIlroy, and Jason Day.

As we do each week, here’s a look at the field, by the numbers.

World Top 10

10 of top 10 players in the Official World Golf Ranking are in the field this week.

  • Dustin Johnson (1)
  • Jordan Spieth (2)
  • Hideki Matsuyama (3)
  • Rory McIlroy (4)
  • Sergio Garcia (5)
  • Jon Rahm (6)
  • Jason Day (7)
  • Henrik Stenson (8)
  • Alex Noren (9)
  • Brooks Koepka (10)

WGC Bridgestone Invitational Winners

Three past Bridgestone winners are in the field this week.

  • Dustin Johnson (2016)
  • Rory McIlroy (2014)
  • Adam Scott (2011)

World Golf Championship Winners

Fourteen winners of World Golf Championships are in the field this week.

  • Dustin Johnson 5 (2013 HSBC, 2015 Mexico, 2016 Bridgestone, 2017 Mexico, 2017 Dell)
  • Jason Day 2 (2014 & 2016 Dell)
  • Rory McIlroy 2 (2014 Bridgestone, 2015 Dell)
  • Ian Poulter 2 (2010 Dell, 2012 HSBC)
  • Adam Scott 2 (2011 Bridgestone, 2016 Mexico)
  • Hideki Matsuyama 1 (2016 HSBC)
  • Russell Knox 1 (2015 HSBC)
  • Matt Kuchar 1 (2013 Dell)
  • Phil Mickelson 1 (2009 Mexico)
  • Francesco Molinari 1 (2010 HSBC)
  • Patrick Reed 1 (2014 Mexico)
  • Justin Rose 1 (2012 Mexico)
  • Henrik Stenson 1 (2007 Dell)
  • Bubba Watson 1 (2014 HSBC)

Major Championship Winners

There are 18 major championship winners totaling 30 major wins, led by Phil Mickelson with five.

  • Phil Mickelson (5)
  • Rory McIlroy (4)
  • Jordan Spieth (3)
  • Bubba Watson (2)
  • Zach Johnson (2)
  • Danny Willett (1)
  • Sergio García (1)
  • Adam Scott (1)
  • Dustin Johnson (1)
  • Charl Schwartzel (1)
  • Brooks Koepka (1)
  • Justin Rose (1)
  • Henrik Stenson (1)
  • Jimmy Walker (1)
  • Jason Day (1)
  • Jason Dufner (1)
  • Louis Oosthuizen (1)
  • Paul Lawrie (1)

Players With 40 WGC Appearances

There are five players in the field this week who have at least 40 starts in WGC events: Mexico Championship, Dell Technologies Match Play, Bridgestone Invitational and HSBC Champions.

  • Lee Westwood (57)
  • Sergio Garcia (52)
  • Phil Mickelson (50)
  • Adam Scott (45)
  • Zach Johnson (40)

Full Field

2017 WGC Bridgestone Invitational: Sorted By Last Name

Daniel Berger
Sam Brazel
Wesley Bryan
Rafa Cabrera Bello
Paul Casey
Kevin Chappell
Jason Day
Bryson DeChambeau
Jason Dufner
Ross Fisher
Matthew Fitzpatrick
Tommy Fleetwood
Rickie Fowler
Sergio Garcia
Branden Grace
Emiliano Grillo
Bill Haas
Adam Hadwin
Brian Harman
Tyrrell Hatton
Scott Hend
Russell Henley
Charley Hoffman
J.B. Holmes
Billy Horschel
Mackenzie Hughes
Thongchai Jaidee
Dustin Johnson
Zach Johnson
Si Woo Kim
Kevin Kisner
Russell Knox
Satoshi Kodaira
Brooks Koepka
Matt Kuchar
Paul Lawrie
Marc Leishman
Hideki Matsuyama
Rory McIlroy
Phil Mickelson
Francesco Molinari
Ryan Moore
Alex Noren
Shaun Norris
Thorbjørn Olesen
Louis Oosthuizen
Rod Pampling
Renato Paratore
Pat Perez
Thomas Pieters
Jon Rahm
Patrick Reed
Andres Romero
Justin Rose
Xander Schauffele
Charl Schwartzel
Adam Scott
Jordan Spieth
Kyle Stanley
Brendan Steele
Henrik Stenson
Andy Sullivan
Hudson Swafford
Hideto Tanihara
Justin Thomas
Harold Varner III
Jhonattan Vegas
Jimmy Walker
Jeunghun Wang
Bubba Watson
Lee Westwood
Bernd Wiesberger
Danny Willett
Chris Wood
Gary Woodland
Fabrizio Zanotti


Please enter your name here