Stanford’s Maverick McNealy Wins Ben Hogan Award

The most prestigious honor in college golf is the Ben Hogan Award, given annually to who is determined to be the best collegiate player.

This year’s winner is 21-year-old Maverick McNealy of Stanford University. It was his third time being a finalist for the award, and his first win.


  • McNealy has 11 collegiate victories, tying Tiger Woods and Patrick Rodgers for the Stanford record. Four of those wins came this past season.
  • McNealy’s six wins in 2014-15 was the most for a Stanford player in a single season since Tiger Woods had 8 victories in 1995-96.
  • McNealy was the World No. 1 ranked amateur as recently as last week, before being passed by Chile’s Joanquin Niemann.
  • He has played in one career professional major, missing the cut as an 18-year-old at the 2014 U.S. Open.
  • He is said to be weighing a potential pro golf career against a career in business, but no official decision has yet been made.
  • Former Ben Hogan Award winners include Hunter Mahan, Ryan Moore, Chris Kirk, Bill Haas, and Jon Rahm.


“Thank you so much to @BenHoganAward for a very special night. It is an absolute honor to be named winner this year.”
Maverick McNealy via Twitter

This post appeared originally as part of the Daily Rundown.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here