Alex Noren Wins BMW PGA With Epic Comeback


Alex Noren entered the final round at the BMW PGA Championship tied for 20th, seven strokes behind leader Andrew Dodt of Australia, and with 17 other world-class professional golfers between him and the leader.

But after shooting a course-record 10-under 62 on Sunday, highlighted by an eagle on the 18th, the 34-year-old Swede beat them all, and captured the BMW PGA.

At the halfway point, with Noren in the clubhouse at 11-under, Dodt, Henrik Stenson, Shane Lowry, Hideto Tanihara, and Branden Grace were in a five-way tie at 9 under, and the odds seemed high that one would be able to at least force a playoff. But all five faded down the stretch, leaving Noren with a full two stroke cushion.

Italy’s Francesco Molinari birdied the final two holes to finish solo-second at 9-under, a shot ahead of Stenson, Tanihara and Nicolas Colsaerts, who also eagled the 18th to jump into the top-5.

It was Noren’s fifth European Tour title in the last 11 months.

The Oklahoma State product seems to be fully healed from debilitating wrist injuries which impacted big chunks of his career between 2012 and 2014. During this time, Noren’s world golf ranking plummeted.

But since his win at the Scottish Open last July, Noren has been one of the very best golfers in the world. He will be leaving Wentworth tonight ranked inside the top-10.

The win for Noren was worth £894,000 or $1,145,124.60 US.

Winner’s Scorecard


“It feels very amazing and very crazy, because I had no intention of trying to win this morning. You know, I didn’t even think about it, and I came off the course quite angry yesterday of playing a good round, 2-under, and then kind of chipping into the water from the back of the green on 18. So it’s a great feeling now, but it feels unreal, yeah.”
Alex Noren, 2017 BMW PGA Champion

The Celebration

Final Leaderboard

1Alex Noren-11-10
2Francesco Molinari-9-4
T3Nicolas Colsaerts-8-7
T3Henrik Stenson-8-4
T3Hideto Tanihara-8-4
T6Graeme Storm-7-4
T6Shane Lowry-7-3
T6Andrew Dodt-71
T9Dean Burmester-6-7
T9Ross Fisher-6-3
T9Branden Grace-61
T12Matthew Fitzpatrick-5-6
T12Justin Rose-5-5
T14Alexander Bjork-4-6
T14Jaco Van Zyl-4-5
T14Thomas Pieters-4-3
T14Nino Bertasio-4-2
T14Scott Jamieson-4-1
T14Kiradech Aphibarnrat-4-1
T14Lee Westwood-41
T21Peter Hanson-3-4
T21Stephen Gallacher-3-3
T21Andrew Johnston-3E
T24Pablo Larrazabal-2-6
T24Scott Hend-2-3
T24Victor Dubuisson-2-2
T24Byeong Hun An-2E
T24Joost Luiten-2E
T24Maximilian Kieffer-21
T30Hao-tong Li-1-5
T30Matteo Manassero-1-4
T30Paul Dunne (a)-1-3
T30Andrew Sullivan-1-2
T30Soren Kjeldsen-1-1
T30Florian Fritsch-1-1
T30Bernd Wiesberger-1E
T30Peter Uihlein-1E
T30Richie Ramsay-11
T30Tyrrell Hatton-12
T40Bernd RitthammerE-3
T40Ian PoulterE-2
T40Anthony WallE-2
T40Paul PetersonE-2
T40Jorge CampilloEE
T40Oliver FisherE1
T40Jordan SmithE2
T40Bradley DredgeE3
48David Howell1-2
T49Chris Wood2-1
T49David Drysdale2E
T51David Horsey3-1
T51Ernie Els3E
T51Alexander Levy3E
T54Thongchai Jaidee4E
T54Daniel Brooks41
T54Niclas Fasth45
57Thomas Bjorn5-1
T58Danny Willett61
T58Johan Carlsson62
T58S.s.p Chawrasia63
T58Benjamin Herbert64
T62Mikko Ilonen83
T62Gregory Bourdy85
64Sebastien Gros113
65Luke Donald124
66Romain Wattel133
-Lasse JensenCUT-
-Russell KnoxCUT-
-Paul LawrieCUT-
-Padraig HarringtonCUT-
-Marcus FraserCUT-
-Alvaro QuirosCUT-
-Richard SterneCUT-
-Felipe AguilarCUT-
-David LipskyCUT-
-Damien McGraneCUT-
-Darren FichardtCUT-
-James MorrisonCUT-
-Rikard KarlbergCUT-
-Raphael JacquelinCUT-
-Marc WarrenCUT-
-Jason ScrivenerCUT-
-Thorbjorn OlesenCUT-
-Jamie DonaldsonCUT-
-Paul WaringCUT-
-Eduardo De La RivaCUT-
-Robert RockCUT-
-Trevor ImmelmanCUT-
-Wade OrmsbyCUT-
-Carlos PigemCUT-
-Gary StalCUT-
-Jeunghun WangCUT-
-Chris HansonCUT-
-Pelle EdbergCUT-
-Martin KaymerCUT-
-Tommy FleetwoodCUT-
-Romain Langasque (a)CUT-
-George CoetzeeCUT-
-Nacho ElviraCUT-
-Adrian OtaeguiCUT-
-Robert KarlssonCUT-
-Darren ClarkeCUT-
-Richard BlandCUT-
-Brandon StoneCUT-
-Gregory HavretCUT-
-Ryan FoxCUT-
-Matthieu PavonCUT-
-Pep AnglesCUT-
-Justin WaltersCUT-
-Magnus CarlssonCUT-
-Soomin LeeCUT-
-Thomas AikenCUT-
-Phachara KhongwatmaiCUT-
-Mikko KorhonenCUT-
-Alexander KnappeCUT-
-Greig HutcheonCUT-
-Edoardo MolinariCUT-
-Haydn PorteousCUT-
-Lee SlatteryCUT-
-Dylan FrittelliCUT-
-Chris GaneCUT-
-Michael Lorenzo-VeraCUT-
-Fabrizio ZanottiCUT-
-Kristoffer BrobergCUT-
-Matthew SouthgateCUT-
-Ricardo GouveiaCUT-
-Paul StreeterCUT-
-Paul HendriksenCUT-
-Alejandro CanizaresCUT-
-Zander LombardCUT-
-Marcel SiemCUT-
-Simon DysonCUT-
-Matthew CortCUT-
-Matt WallaceCUT-
-Joakim LagergrenCUT-
-Renato ParatoreCUT-
-Chris PaisleyCUT-
-Graham FoxCUT-
-Sam BrazelCUT-
-Julien QuesneCUT-
-Philip ArcherCUT-
-Lucas BjerregaardCUT-
-Daniel ImCUT-
-Sam WalkerCUT-
-Hennie OttoCUT-
-Neil O'briainCUT-
-Robert ColesCUT-
-Nathan HolmanWD-
-Brett RumfordWD-
-Callum ShinkwinDQ-


Please enter your name here