10 Tour Championship Records to Know


After a much needed break for the Top-30, the final event of the PGA Tour’s FedEx Cup Playoffs gets underway this Thursday. The East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta has been the home for the season ending tournament since 2004.

Before we begin our coverage for the week, here are 10 Tour Championship records to know.

18 Hole Scoring Records

Zach Johnson owns the course record at the East Lake Golf Club. Johnson shot a 60 (-10) in the third round in 2007. That week, Johnson along with Mark Calcavecchia, finished runner-up to Tiger Woods.

Lowest Winning Score – Aggregate and To Par

Tiger Woods owns the 72 hole scoring record at the Tour Championship. In 2007, Woods shot rounds of 64-63-64-66 to finish at 23-under (257) for the week. Along the way, Woods also set the 36 & 54 Hole Scoring records.

Largest Margin of Victory

That same year, in 2007, Tiger Woods won with a margin of eight strokes to set the largest margin of victory at the Tour Championship.

Low Finish by Winner

In 2004, Retief Goosen started the final round four strokes behind 54-hole leaders, Tiger Woods and Jay Haas. Goosen shot a 6-under (64) to win by four strokes over Woods. Woods shot 72 (+2) and Haas shot (+5) that day.

Best Come from Behind

In 2008, Colombian Camillo Villegas started the final round five strokes behind leader Sergio Garcia. Villegas made up the gap in regulation play and then beat Garcia on the first Playoff Hole to set the best come from behind victory at the Tour Championship.

Most Wins

Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson are the only multiple time winners at the season ending event. Both have won twice here.

Most Starts at the Tour Championship

Phil Mickelson is making his 17th start the Tour Championship this week. This will be one more than veteran Jim Furyk, who didn’t make it this far into the Playoffs this season. Mickelson has five Top-10’s at this event.

Lowest Scoring Average

Tiger Woods has the lowest scoring average at this event. In his 14 starts here, Woods has a scoring average of 69.00 and is a combined 72-under through 56 rounds.

Wire to Wire Winners

There have been 7 wire-to-wire winners at the Tour Championship, most recently Billy Horschel in 2014.

1987Tom Watson
1988Curtis Strange
1991Craig Stadler
1996Tom Lehman
2005Bart Bryant
2013Henrik Stenson
2014Billy Horschel

Money Leaders


1Tiger Woods5,876,800
2Jim Furyk5,333,466
3Phil Mickelson4,311,500
4Vijay Singh3,634,433
5Retief Goosen2,921,333


Please enter your name here