Already 4-over par on the day, Phil Mickelson seemingly snapped after missing a bogey putt on the 13th hole. As his ball slid past the hole and started to pick up steam, going downhill, Mickelson ran to it and made a stroke as it was still moving.
Mickelson would miss two more putts, but finally tapped in for an 8. USGA officials then assessed the 48-year old star a two-stroke penalty (14-5, hitting a moving ball), for a score of 6-over 10 to move to 16-over par.
A remarkable sequence on Hole 13, where Phil Mickelson was assessed a two-stroke penalty for hitting a moving ball and ended up making a 10 on the hole. pic.twitter.com/kx6ieYiOGR
— U.S. Open (USGA) (@usopengolf) June 16, 2018
The five-time major winner would go on to bogey one more hole to sign for a 11-over par 81, and a three-day score of 17-over par.
From John Bodenhamer, USGA: “One of our rules officials spoke to him to inform what we had looked at on video and of our decision. We informed him it was a two-stroke penalty and he said ‘Thank you’ and moved ahead with his round.”
— USGA (@USGA) June 16, 2018
The “press jackals” went in for the kill.
Look at these press jackals. pic.twitter.com/jO1SUMN1AG
— @danfromdc (@danfromdc) June 16, 2018
Phil going all John Daly at Pinehurst on us … Amazing. Good call by Strange: "Never seen that from a world-class player."
— Doug Ferguson (@dougferguson405) June 16, 2018
Re Phil and why it’s not serious breach and DQ per USGA: In short, he played a moving ball, so rule 14-5. Had he simply stopped it with putter, rule 1-2 for serious breach and DQ. Makes total sense 🙄
— Brian Wacker (@brianwacker1) June 16, 2018
Phil always wants to be the most clever guy in the room. I think he outsmarted himself on this one.
— Alan Shipnuck (@AlanShipnuck) June 16, 2018
On his birthday, Phil Mickelson just made a mockery of the U.S. Open. I suggest that the same USGA suits that hounded Dustin Johnson at Oakmont ask the birthday boy to please leave the course.
— Ian O'Connor (@Ian_OConnor) June 16, 2018
In a post-round interview with Phil, FOX’s Curtis Strange asked, “Does it show disrespect to the championship?”
Mickelson answered, “It certainly wasn’t meant that way. It was meant to take advantage of the rules as best as you can.”
— Scott Michaux (@ScottMichaux) June 16, 2018