Barracuda Championship Primer: History, TV, Field


The Barracuda Championship tees off this week at Montrêux Golf and Country Club in western Nevada – located about midway between Reno and Lake Tahoe.

Founded 18 years ago as an alternate event to the WGC Bridgestone Invitational, and originally titled the Reno–Tahoe Open, the Barracuda is the only PGA Tour event which uses a Modified Stableford scoring system, or better known as points.

The ‘Cuda is one of four alternate tournaments on the PGA Tour’s schedule, with the others being: Sanderson Farms (WGC HSBC), Puerto Rico (WGC Dell), and Barbasol (British Open).

As an alternate tournament, the field is weaker, the purse is smaller, and the winnings are not quite as impressive (less money, and no Masters invite).

With all that said, it still is a PGA Tour event, and it is one of the most exciting professional golf events to watch.

The Field

The Nevada field is generally comprised of veterans on the career-downside, a bunch of up-and-comers, and a sprinkling of players who will actually be part of the FedEx Cup playoffs.

The defending champion is Australian Greg Chalmers, who finally broke through last year for his first career victory – ending the longest winless streak on the PGA Tour (18 years and 386 PGA Tour starts).

Players headlining this year’s tournament include vets such as Davis Love III, KJ Choi, Y.E. Yang, Angel Cabrera, Retief Goosen, and Stuart Appleby. While some of the still-in-their-prime marquee names are Hunter Mahan, Daniel Summerhays, Harris English, Ryan Palmer, Chris Kirk, and Ben Crane. Young guns include Ollie Schniederjans, Dominic Bozzelli, and Smylie Kaufman.

2016 Champion

Chalmers was tied with 2013 Barracuda champion Gary Woodland on the 18th hole at Montrêux. A bogey by Woodland, though, coupled with an eagle by Chalmers, gave the 42-year-old Aussie a six-point spread and his first PGA Tour title.

Chalmer’s previous best was a runner-up at the 2000 Kemper Insurance Open and 2009 Buick Open. At 42, Chalmers was the season’s oldest winner.

Other Recent Winners

2016: Greg Chalmers
2015: J. J. Henry
2014: Geoff Ogilvy
2013: Gary Woodland
2012: J. J. Henry
2011: Scott Piercy

TV Coverage

Round 1: Thursday 5-8 PM (Golf Channel)
Round 2: Friday 5-8 PM (Golf Channel)
Round 3: Saturday 4-7 PM (Golf Channel)
Round 4: Sunday 4-7 PM (Golf Channel)

The Course

The Jack Nicklaus-designed Montrêux Golf & Country Club has been the host course since the tournament’s inception. Surrounded by snow-capped mountains, tall Nevada pines and some of the most pristine conditions on the PGA Tour, Montrêux is a favorite stop for fans, golfers, and media alike.

Featuring a number of drops in elevation, with breathtaking views, Montrêux is spread out across 7,500 yards of beautiful Nevada real estate, with its fairways outlined by towering pine trees and crossing flowing streams.

Nicklaus himself considers Montrêux one of his top five golf courses.

The Skinny

Tournament: Barracuda Championship
Managed By: PGA Tour
Title Sponsor: Barracuda Networks
Dates: August 3-6
Course: Montrêux Golf & Country Club
Where: Reno, Nevada
Vitals: 7,472 yards, par-72
Architect: Jack Nicklaus (1997)
Format: Stableford, 72 hole competition, 36 hole cut
Purse: $3,300,000
Winning Share: $630,000
Online: Website | Facebook | Twitter

Barracuda Championship Preview

Full Barracuda Championship Field

Sorted by World Rank

97Daniel Summerhays
118Harris English
123Ryan Palmer
131Chez Reavie
135Chris Kirk
142Padraig Harrington
144Ollie Schniederjans
145Aaron Baddeley
146Smylie Kaufman
148Luke List
150J.J Spaun
172Dominic Bozzelli
175Brian Stuard
177Kevin Tway
182Vaughn Taylor
194Ben Martin
200David Hearn
201Brian Gay
202Robert Garrigus
203Seungyul Noh
215JT Poston
217Scott Stallings
223Alex Cejka
231Brandon Hagy
233Patton Kizzire
235Cameron Tringale
238Blayne Barber
241Geoff Ogilvy
245Kyle Reifers
246Trey Mullinax
251John Huh
260Chad Collins
262Retief Goosen
265Johnson Wagner
268Ricky Barnes
272Derek Fathauer
273Matt Jones
274Chesson Hadley
285Juan Sebastian Munoz
287Martin Flores
291Seamus Power
292Rick Lamb
293Nick Watney
295Andres Gonzales
297Tyrone van Aswegen
298Richy Werenski
304Curtis Luck
314Spencer Levin
315K.J. Choi
320Zac Blair
321Sam Saunders
322Ryan Brehm
323Jonathan Randolph
327Bryce Molder
328Troy Merritt
332Cameron Percy
346Greg Chalmers
396Tim Wilkinson
413Chris Stroud
416Brian Campbell
420Ben Crane
431J.J. Henry
435Joel Dahmen
437Shawn Stefani
438Mark Anderson
441Julian Etulain
451Tag Ridings
458Greg Owen
461Steve Wheatcroft
473Rory Sabbatini
478Ken Duke
480Will Wilcox
491Brett Stegmaier
492Jonathan Byrd
500Nicholas Lindheim
518Ryan Armour
523Y.E. Yang
533Tom Hoge
536Bill Lunde
553Brad Fritsch
560Stuart Appleby
586Eric Axley
592Jason Bohn
631Peter Malnati
640Miguel Angel Carballo
657Brett Drewitt
671Mark Hubbard
690Gonzalo Fdez-Castano
708Angel Cabrera
717Max Homa
727Bobby Wyatt
740Matt Every
744Steven Alker
763Tim Herron
772Hunter Mahan
775Davis Love III
796Mark Wilson
812Robert Allenby
844Tyler Aldridge
885Brendon de Jonge
928Cody Blick
969John Merrick
1053Arjun Atwal
1085Steven Bowditch
1096Dicky Pride
1113Carl Pettersson
1295Craig Barlow
1333Sungjoon Park
1405Charlie Danielson
1432Charlie Wi
1523Shane Bertsch
1633Brendon Todd
1718Ted Purdy
1777Maverick McNealy
1828Tommy Gainey
1863Cameron Beckman
1967Tim Petrovic
1967John Rollins
1967Troy Matteson
1967Troy Kelly
1967Jay McLuen
1967Hugo Leon
1967Jake Sarnoff
1967Rich Berberian, Jr.
1967Sam Horsfield
1967Davis Love IV
1967Wyndham Clark

Photo Credits: Getty Images


Please enter your name here