8 BMW Championship Records To Know


The third leg of the FedEx Cup Playoffs gets underway this Thursday, with the BMW Championship at Crooked Stick in Carmel, Indiana. Before we begin our coverage for the event, here are 8 tournament records you should know.

Most Wins

Walter Hagen and Tiger Woods hold the tournament record with five wins each. Hagen’s wins came in 1916, ’21, ’22, ’27 and ’32. On top of that, he’s finished runners-up three times. Woods’ wins came in ’97, ’99, ’03, ’07 and ’09. Woods is a two-time runner-up at this event.

Largest Margin of Victory

The largest margin of victory is 8 strokes and is shared by three players, Llyod Mangrum (1952), Steve Stricker (1996) and Tiger Woods (2009).

Best 18 Hole Score

Jim Furyk holds the 18-hole tournament record here at the BMW Championship. Furyk shot 59 (-13) in the second round in 2013 at Conway Farms. Furyk hit 12 birdies, one eagle and a bogey. Furyk would go on to finish 3rd after four days.

Lowest 72 Hole Total

The record for the lowest 72-hole total at this event is held by Tiger Woods (2007) and Jason Day (2015). Both players shot identical scores of 262, -22 under par. Woods shot rounds of 67, 67, 65 and 63, to win by two strokes over Aaron Baddeley. Day shot scores of 61, 63, 69 and 69 ,to win by six strokes over Daniel Berger.

Low Finish by Winner

Tiger Woods and Cary Middlecoff have shot 63 in the final round to win the tournament. In 1955, Cary Middlecoff started the final round four shots behind the leader, Mike Souchak. Middlecoff shot 9-under to eventually win by two strokes over Souchak. In 2007, Tiger Woods started the final round one stroke behind third round leaders Aaron Baddeley and Steve Stricker. In an epic final round battle, Woods finished 8-under for the day to win by two strokes over Baddeley.

Best Come from Behind Win

Tom Kite holds the record for the best come from behind victory at the BMW Championship. In 1986, Kite had started the final round seven strokes behind leaders Fred Couples and David Frost. Kite shot a four-under, 68, and waited two hours as the leaders imploded on the back nine. Kite went into a playoff with Couples, Frost and Nick Price, and won with a birdie on the first playoff hole itself.

Wire-to-Wire Winners


1952Lloyd Mangrum
1961Arnold Palmer
1964Chi Chi Rodriguez
1972Jim Jamieson
1985Scott Verplank
1993Nick Price
2003Tiger Woods
2008Camilo Villegas
2011Justin Rose
2015Jason Day

Highest Career Earnings at the BMW Championship


RankPlayerEarnings (USD)
1Tiger Woods6,108,156
2Jim Furyk4,244,353
3Zach Johnson2,312,066
4Camilo Villegas2,284,833
5Justin Rose2,201,316


Please enter your name here