Final Money: Stephen Ames Wins Mitsubishi Electric Classic


Stephen Ames fired a 6-under 66 on Sunday to win the Mitsubishi Electric Classic by four-strokes over Bernhard Langer. It was the first win on the senior circuit for the 52-year-old Canadian.

Ames entered the final round at TPC Sugarloaf holding on to a one-stroke lead, but after birdies on 1 and 3, Ames pulled away from the field.

After Ames dropped two more birdies on 6 and 7, he was never really threatened, and cruised to a bogey-free 2-under over his final 11 holes.

Runner-up Langer had the day’s best round, a 7-under 65 to move from T21 to sole-2nd. The trio of Fred Funk, David Frost, and Brandt Jobe all finished at 10-under to tie for 3rd place.

For his maiden win on the Champions tour, Ames earned $270,000 and moved into the top-5 on the Charles Schwab Cup Money List.

Top 5

1 Stephen Ames -15
2 Bernhard Langer -11
T3 Fred Funk -10
T3 David Frost -10
T3 Brandt Jobe -10


T8 Miguel Angel Jimenez -8
T12 John Daly -7
T27 Jose Maria Olazabal -4
T39 Larry Mize -2
T50 Jesper Parnevik E
T66 Tom Watson +4
T66 Mark Calcavecchia +4
T72 Larry Nelson +7

The Thrill of Victory

Final Leaderboard

Mitsubishi Electric Classic, Final Round, April 16, 2017

1Stephen Ames-15$270,000
2Bernhard Langer-11$158,400
3David Frost-10$108,000
3Fred Funk-10$108,000
3Brandt Jobe-10$108,000
6Woody Austin-9$68,400
6Kevin Sutherland-9$68,400
8Jay Don Blake-8$49,500
8Mark Brooks-8$49,500
8Miguel Angel Jimenez-8$49,500
8Kenny Perry-8$49,500
12Roger Chapman-7$33,600
12John Daly-7$33,600
12Lee Janzen-7$33,600
12Billy Mayfair-7$33,600
12Jeff Sluman-7$33,600
12Duffy Waldorf-7$33,600
18Billy Andrade-6$24,615
18Jeff Maggert-6$24,615
18Scott McCarron-6$24,615
18Tim Petrovic-6$24,615
22Mike Goodes-5$18,936
22Jay Haas-5$18,936
22Jerry Kelly-5$18,936
22Jerry Smith-5$18,936
22Esteban Toledo-5$18,936
27Michael Bradley-4$14,297
27Paul Broadhurst-4$14,297
27Brian Henninger-4$14,297
27Jose Maria Olazabal-4$14,297
27Fran Quinn-4$14,297
27Gene Sauers-4$14,297
27Bob Tway-4$14,297
34Joe Durant-3$10,836
34Dan Forsman-3$10,836
34David Toms-3$10,836
34Scott Verplank-3$10,836
34Ian Woosnam-3$10,836
39Tommy Armour III-2$8,460
39Tom Byrum-2$8,460
39Bobby Gage-2$8,460
39Paul Goydos-2$8,460
39Gary Hallberg-2$8,460
39Larry Mize-2$8,460
39Scott Parel-2$8,460
46Olin Browne-1$6,480
46Jim Carter-1$6,480
46Marco Dawson-1$6,480
46Steve Pate-1$6,480
50Scott HochE$5,040
50Sandy LyleE$5,040
50Jesper ParnevikE$5,040
50Joey SindelarE$5,040
54Doug Garwood1$4,050
54Phillip Price1$4,050
54Kirk Triplett1$4,050
54Willie Wood1$4,050
58Glen Day2$3,060
58Brad Faxon2$3,060
58Kent Jones2$3,060
58Tom Pernice, Jr.2$3,060
58Wes Short, Jr.2$3,060
58Rod Spittle2$3,060
58Grant Waite2$3,060
65Russ Cochran3$2,340
66Mark Calcavecchia4$1,980
66Miguel Angel Martin4$1,980
66Tom Watson4$1,980
69Scott Dunlap5$1,638
69Skip Kendall5$1,638
71Carlos Franco6$1,476
72Bob Gilder7$1,233
72Todd Hamilton7$1,233
72Steve Lowery7$1,233
72Larry Nelson7$1,233
76Steve Schneiter8$1,044
77Andy North14$936
77Tom Purtzer14$936
-Mark O'MearaWD$0


Please enter your name here